We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat hot food”

Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham
Ranked #9 of 63 Fun & Games in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Don't eat the the roasted sweet potato falafel today there seems to be some unadvertised cilli powder in it

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Trail721918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"paul smith"
in 9 reviews
"art house"
in 6 reviews
"independent films"
in 6 reviews
"foreign language films"
in 6 reviews
"comfortable surroundings"
in 6 reviews
"comfy seats"
in 12 reviews
"box office"
in 5 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 18 reviews
"burger"
in 9 reviews
"great night"
in 6 reviews
"screen"
in 64 reviews
"venue"
in 50 reviews
"mainstream"
in 13 reviews
"multiplex"
in 13 reviews
"menu"
in 25 reviews
"vegan"
in 9 reviews
"viewing"
in 7 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

Hi
Could always rely on the Broadway for good vegetarian food, whether its before a film, for breakfast or just popping in for lunch.
However on my last visit the food was not great, chilli burrito was bland and my veggie hotdog- well I haven't had a vegetable sausage since the 80's! Service was good, place is lovely, great place to see a film, the food just needs some improvement, which is a shame because I wanted to write good things about the Broadway, especially as there is a lot of competition around now - it did seem a bit quiet which was unusual.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank LindseyB786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Marketing at Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Lindsey,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the menu and your food recently. We also very much appreciate your positive comments as a long-term customer and are disappointed that you had a negative experience recently. Your feedback has been passed on to our chef and we hope that he will take this on board when devising future menus. When next visiting please do take a look at the specials board as we have one-off vegetarian dishes on a daily basis that you may be interested in. Today's specials are:

Goats cheese and pepper frittata (served on olive salad)
Vegan cashew tagine (cashew nuts, peppers, chickpeas all slow cooked with apricots, aromatic spices amd tomatoes. Served with cous cous)

In regards of how busy the cafebar was, please don't be concerned! We've recently had our biggest year for cinema admissions and this is typically reflected in cafebar footfall - it was just potentially one of those days when you were able to get a table! We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for the feedback, it's extremely valuable to us.

Best wishes,

The Broadway Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

I've been coming here for a while for the reliable vegetarian/vegan options they feature on the boards. However more recently the quality and focus on the basics isn't there.

For one, they're into this ridiculous, and pretty risky practice of serving everything on porous and not entirely clean-looking wooden boards. Nothing ruins the delight of food arriving like finding it's on a slightly discoloured, ageing wooden board and realising you forgot to specify 'put it on a plate' when ordering.

...I was hungry and felt too polite to insist on a clean, proper plate so put it down to a lesson learned. That was £12.50 for the falafel and a drink that I didn't enjoy very much.

When observing the kitchen too, you can see the chefs often getting very hands on with salad.

Also, the cutlery when brought is dumped alongside condiments - themselves slightly mucky and well-handed - in a metal bucket which again feels a bit gross. We all know what's on those things.

There's just something a little careless with how Broadway present food and the lack of attention to hygeine on the small things has put me off somewhat. Staff are fairly nonchalant.

The actual menu options are good and unique, although portions quite small and poor value, especially the cakes.

Downstairs is loud and can be crowded so my advice is find a spot upstairs.

Broadway is convenient if you want somewhere casual to sit and work with a drink after a light dinner, or you're there for a film, but other local venues offer a tighter, less lacklustre and cleaner eating experience.

It could be a great place, unique in the casual environment, but poor service and attention to basics of their food presentation mean I'll give it a miss next time.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Our daughter bought us a Broadway Cinema gift voucher, to go & see "The lady in the van". Starring Maggie Smith, only way to describe it is, "hilarious". We came out with our sides aching through laughter. This has led to more visits to the Broadway, usually when it's "Silver Screen day" reduced fare on the tram from Toton Terminal.(restrictions). Finished off with a meal in a local hostelry closer to home

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank E4BABYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Marketing at Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your continued custom! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Booked to see 'Funny Cow' - great film!

Got to Broadway early so we could eat before the movie. Plenty of seats, lots of veggie choices, food wine, great service and perfect environment for a relaxed night out.

We've been going to Broadway for 30 odd years and never been disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Marketing at Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Here's to the next 30 years! Thank you for your kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Broadway Cinema/Cafe Bar, Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing