We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
304
286
172
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
286
172
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleep spray crash pad nottingham castle boutique hotel white company four poster the penthouse lovely hotel city centre car park coffee machine executive room bar area discounted rate top floor few minutes walk saturday night
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

My partner and I purchased an afternoon tea groupon voucher for £14.95, this was reasonably priced for service and food received.
Clean and contemporary environment, we got a selection of sandwiches, slices of cake and a scone each.
The only negative part of the experience was not being told what our sandwich fillings were, asking if we were ok or offering more tea and coffee.
Overall it was an average experience for an average price at £7.50 each.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 85ELL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianS3092, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 85ELL01

Thank you for your most valued feedback.

kind regards
Julian Saunders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We went yesterday, Friday at 3.30pm and had a really lovely time at St James Hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and the afternoon tea was one of the best we've ever had. We have had a lot of afternoon teas too!! Beautiful hotel reception too.

The presentation was really nice, even the table as we arrived, was laid out lovely. The sofas were really comfy and there was pleasant music playing. The sandwiches were a nice mixture. There were lots of little sweet treats including strawberries. Then there was scones, jam and cream. A big pot of lovely tea too.

We were pleasantly full after all of that and it was a lovely way to spend 90 minutes quality time with my partner we then walked to the main square near the Town Hall and watched the world go by, in the sunshine.

It was a Groupon deal and we were that impressed, I have already bought a second one!! Groupon is fantastic and takes us to loads of very nice different places! I also picked up a Christmas event's brochure while we were there. Thanks very much, see you again soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank traceytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Traceytag

Thank you for your lovely review which I will share with the team and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Julian Saunders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Stay here often and the hotel is very clean, with really friendly staff who upgrade you when they have a room. Great location and nice breakfasts, never any hassle from crash pads to suites. Would recommend them to anyone.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Monkey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Monkey M

Thank you for your review and lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Julian Saunders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

My family and i came here the 28th july for afternoon tea. The staff were friendly and attentive especially a youngish smart man i think his name was Ryan. He was very polite and professional and checked on us continuously. he provided a very good service. i was very happy with the selection of cakes. i would definately come back again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Larissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Larissa J

Thank you for your feedback, Ryan will be delighted that he has received a special mention, he and his team hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Julian Saunders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The venue was beautiful albeit a bit hot as there was no air conditioning. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. A bit disappointed in the sandwich selection of the afternoon tea. The pastries were very nice but have to say that I have had better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian S, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Lynne P

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you were a little disappointed in the sandwich selection, we are just in the process of updating our offering so this is really useful feedback.

Kind regards
Julian Saunders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews