We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely English Countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Penrhyn'

'Penrhyn'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Penrhyn'
Large, well maintained gardens. Looking towards the East & Mill House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
'Penrhyn'
Large, well maintained gardens.
Looking towards the East & Mill House
The bungalow with its Southerly facing Sun Lounge
Sun Lounge
Dining Kitchen
Dining Area
Lounge
Lounge
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Ample Parking
View to the North
View to the North
View to South West
View to South
Southern aspect
Southern elevation
Penrhyn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Deltadd
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Lovely English Countryside”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely cottage, surrounded by the beautiful English countryside. Jane and Tom were very accommodating. The cottage itself was lovely and fully equipped with everthing you could possibly need. It was very well situated for visiting my family who live in the Nottingham area. How nice to get up in the morning and walk down the country lane. Thanks, Dawn, Dar, Dale, and Jan, from Canada.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJSRobert...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect cottage in wonderfully quiet location. A gem of a find!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

After our original booking was cancelled due to last minute renovations, by sheer serendipity, Penrhyn was the first alternative that popped up online. Since we were arriving from the US in only two days, I phoned Jane to inquire about accommodations. Turns out Penrhyn was available, thank goodness, and it was one of our best cottage stays to date.

Jane met us on arrival and gave us a tour. The updated cottage is in wonderful condition and the amenities were aplenty; all of the accommodations of home. I highly recommend Penrhyn for a small family stay. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house didn't lack for any of the comforts of home.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_C...
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Summer 2013 Vacation”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed again at this neat little bungalow. We really enjoyed the location, the well equipped home and the local area. Landlords Tom & Jane are terrific and we had a fabulous time .....again. We've re-booked for 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all great
Liked least: Cell service lacking but not property's fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat: close to perfection”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Overall this is a lovely property which my wife and I, in our seventies with restricted mobility, would certainly visit again. It is approached by a gated unmetalled lane. This provides peace and privacy but opening and closing the gate can be a chore. It is also muddy. Once inside you find an exceptional standard of cleanliness. During our stay there was a very unseasonal cold snap with a light snowfall but the bungalow was warm and comfortable, no draughts or cold spots. The owners live in an adjacent property but not so close that you feel overlooked. After a friendly welcome we hardly saw them again. The location is excellent with easy road access to Nottingham centre as well as to Sherwood Forest, Southwell, & Newark.

As we found it, this is a 4* property. A relatively small number of improvements would give it another star.

Other than pubs and a garage there's not much in Lambley so a car is essential, and I'd recommend a good pair of shoes, if not boots, during the winter months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, warm and quiet
Liked least: no walk-in shower, muddy outside, gated lane access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_C...
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Property”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Property was clean, spacious and well equipped. Surrounding area was lovely. We have re-booked already. Perfect vacation rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: no internet or phone
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing