We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked a double room and a twin room for one night for family of four when visiting Nottingham Watersports Centre. Total cost was £90 which included a 3-course dinner buffet, full breakfast buffet and bottle of wine per room. The food was hot and plentiful with reasonable choice. Check-in / out was speedy, staff were pleasant, the rooms were clean and everything worked (tvs, remote controls, showers, lifts, etc). The central location of the hotel was a great plus point. Decor / furniture in rooms was slightly dated but we have paid far more for much grottier hotel rooms in the past. Overall we felt we got excellent value for money and would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HET802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,015 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

On reading the reviews on here, I was not expecting very much at all from our stay! All I can say,is do not believe all you read on here! The hotel was far from being tired,the room was lovely & clean and the food was plentiful,hot and of a good standard. The staff were very friendly & happy to be of service! This is a hotel that is NOT 5* and offers great value for money and there are some very good offers available,we found ours on Travelzoo. The tv's are not flat screen,but work perfectly and if all you want to do is watch tv in a hotel room what is the point in going away? About 5 minutes walk from the hotel is the castle and the same distance in the opposite direction to the city centre. The ncp car parking is also subsidised on booking out.
You pay for what you get,this is a 3* hotel and we had a great deal booked and we were thoroughly satisfied with the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whitestar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It's officially the worst hotel I have stayed in - booked non smoking room a month in advance: first got a disabled room, came down, said all I wanted was double non smoking, changed room, it was a SMOKING room, was then told, they had none left, make do.. had to be in a smelly room all night.. the staff talk to you like scum and you certainly get a scummy return. Even for one night, it was a disturbing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjames86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My son and I stayed at this hotel for one night (2nd April 2012). I couldn t resist the room rate of £30 and so made the booking. We stay at various hotels across the uk (from Hiltons/Marriotts to Premier Inns),when my son takes part in tournaments. as we do this fairly regularly I am always on the lookout for a bargin! However after booking the one night at the Brittania Hotel, I became very worried when reading the reviews (mostly very bad ones !) on travel sites. The night before I almost rang and cancelled, However, theis was our experience: The receptionist at checkin was extremely polite and helpful : He even gave me the key to a rom on the 7th Floor to go and see if I liked the room (as I d said " oh no......not the 7th foor, that s been given TERRIBLE reviews!" He was so nice about it and I duely went to have a look . It was a large ,bright room with 2 double beds and 2 bathrooms. Yes the furniture was a bit chipped in places and the carpet a little threadbare towards the door: but the bathrooms were very clean and the bed linen crisp white. I was so relieved !!!! We accepted that room and ate later in the hotel lounge/bar. We were virtually the only people in there . The area was comfy, and welcoming. The food was very well priced (from the bar menu) and both dishes were good. The staff in the bar were also friendly . There was no noise at night (as some reports say) and myself and my son slept very well that night . Breakfsat was good/.wIth the usual selection of hot items on the buffet ,along with breads /fruits/ hams/ cheeses and pastries. We were in a bit of a rush that morning and wished we d had more time to savour breakfast properly. So for the money, location, service ,room ,food and experience we will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Needing to catch a very early flight from East Midlands Ibooked this very cheaply with some trepidation but was pleasantly surprised.
Efficient but not overly friendly reception but was offered an early morning call. I was on the seventh floor which was quiet ( Nottingham never seems to sleep). The room was tired but clean with tea and coffee and a good shower. Would stay again but not for a holiday

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorttriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 km away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,199 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.0 km away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,415 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.1 km away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: ₹ 2,756 - ₹ 9,647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing