We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bolt hole at Bolehill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bolehill Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our second visit to Bolehill and our second stay in Lathkill cottage. Bolehill a former working farm enjoys a wonderfully peaceful location in the beautiful Derbyshire dales. Close to many places to visit, see and eat at. A genuine warm welcome greets you at this very well maintained former farm. My mother (87) coped very well, with all the facilities in this well presented and comfortable cottage. Chris and Shirley continue to work hard at making the site as "green" as is practically possible. We are hoping to visit again in the not too distant future. A very good place to stay for visiting the Derbyshire dales, can fully recommend the Chatsworth House farm shop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelmanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We recently stayed in Lathkill cottage with my Mother and 2 yr old son for 2 nights.

On the website, there is a minimum 3 night stay, but I emailed directly as I could see there was a gap in the rentals that suited our days. As it was fairly last minute and out of main season, they were very accommodating. All my emails were responded to very quickly and helpfully by Shirley.

We arrived a little earlier than we thought we would, but Shirley was there to greet us and the cottage was ready for us. Our cottage was up a few steps, so would not be suitable for people with mobility problems, however it was no problem for us. It opened up onto a large lawn that had a swing and slide, so would be ideal for families with younger kids.

The famous Blue and Smudge were a big hit with my son. They were lovely and well natured dogs, and I had no concern about them around him. The were also a few other dogs staying with other visitors. We were a little disappointed that there were no sheep, cows or chickens as mentioned on the website.

The cottage was very well appointed with dining room table and chairs, couch and sitting chair in main area. One bedroom was a twin and overlooked the sounding fields, the other had a double bed and looked out over the large back area, and to where Shirley fed the birds. The kitchen was very well equipped with all cookware and a good range of cutlery and crockery. The bathroom had a powershower, with enough hot water for showers for both my mother and I.

There have been comments about the heating on other reviews. My mother is a bit of a cool blood and did find the cottage cool once the heating switched off at night (but she wears a coat in our house sometimes which is centrally heated above 20 deg). It was lovely and warm while the heat was on the evening, but did get cooler overnight. It was still fairly cool out (3deg one morning), but it was certainly not unpleasant in the cottage.

There was a very informative folder in the cottage with many topics covered. Shirley and Chris were also very helpful with every query we had. The cottages are only a few miles from Bakewell, which I think makes the perfect base for exploring the Peaks District. We had decided not to make this a walking holiday, so toured around in our car. There are some lovely villages in the southern peaks district, but for me, the scenery north of where we were really shone.

As I said in the title, the only negative was not being able to stay longer!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzeMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our first visit to Bolehill Farm Cottages. We went for 3 nights in April and this was the first time we'd taken our little Jack Russel x Holly away with us. We absolutley loved it!!
Chris and Shirely were very welcoming as were Smudge and Blue (the 2 resident dogs) The cottage was spot on, very clean, comfortable and very cosy, it had everything we needed. (We stayed in the Dove Cottage)and the view from our window was amazing.
The cottages are just outside of Bakewell (2 miles) and has 20 acres of surrounding fields for you to admire. Bakewell itself has plenty of quaint shops for you to go in to and pubs to visit after a long walk with the dog, some are dog friendly other's aren't but the ones that are even offer free dog biscuits to make them feel welcome. A nice touch.
We visited the Chatsworth Estate which was also not far from the cottage and well worth a visit although dogs are not be allowed in Chatsworth house they are allowed in the gardens.
There is plenty of surrounding places to visit and the location of these cottages is just ideal.
I'd recommend to anyone wanting a charming, beautiful and quiet place to stay.
We'll definitely we going back.
Thanks Chris and Shirley
Mr and Mrs Lackin (9th-12th April 2012)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Once again we had a lovely stay at Bolehill Farm. The location is excellent for visiting Bakewell, Chatsworth and loads of other places, and the cottages themselves are very comfortable and well equipped if you want to put your feet up at the end of the day. Chris and Shirley are very welcoming as everyone has noted. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Lathkill is recommended if you have young children as it opens onto the garden/play area so it is ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was our second visit to Bole Hill and we had a lovely weekend. Shirley & Chris were as welcoming and kind as on our first visit. The cottage was lovely and we began to feel relaxed and mellow in no time. We are regular self-caterers and we have been so impressed at the thought and standard of the cottages. It is lovely to be able to take our dogs with us, the setting is delightful and we have had two fantastic breaks. I can't wait to get a third booked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerysdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peak District National Park hotels
3.1 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
17.2 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
9.2 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
930 reviews
12.1 km away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolehill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolehill Farm Cottages

Address: Bole Hill Farm Monyash Road | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range: ₹ 2,589 - ₹ 3,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Peak District Cottages are located just 2 miles from the Derbyshire Town of Bakewell in the Peak District National Park. The 8 cottages are located in a courtyard setting within 20 acres of grounds. Chatsworth and Haddon Hall are no more than 10 mins away. Our grounds looks towards Lathkill Dale and it is an easy walking to the villages of Over Haddon and Sheldon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing