We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Walking boots required or take the Cinder Track

Extremely easy to find from Robin Hoods Bay and we’ll sign posted. Mostly quite flat but this walk... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Venusinredshoes
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Walking Heaven!!

Walked Robin Hoods Bay to Scarborough on the coastal path, I had read that it was strenuous and... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2022
karen r
,
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Read all 146 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around North York Moors National Park
from $401.05
More Info
from $58.95
More Info
from $838.94
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
110
32
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
32
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews robin hoods bay hayburn wyke coastal walk cinder track cayton bay whitby abbey walking boots ups and downs stunning views caught the bus lucky with the weather victoria hotel steep steps lord stones appropriate footwear pebble beach take your time
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Me and my wife completed this walk in 7 days. According to my Garmin we walked a total of 120 miles and did 38500 feet of ascent.
The Moorland stretch is simply beautiful and rugged and the path is superbly maintained. The way signs are second to none and it's got real variety.
At times you are up there totally by yourself with no one to see anywhere, though we did meet quite a few people on the way.
There's great places to stay too .... Queen Catherine's at Osmotherly had great live entertainment on a Sunday night! Argyle House in Helmsley gave us the best breakfast we've ever had, Dave at Dromonby Bridge B&B picked us up, took us to the pub and dropped us off were we left the walk the next day.
I can't speak for any other long distance walks but I loved every minute of this and have already planned the Wolds Way for next year and Pennine Way for 2016

Date of experience: August 2013
5  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We parked in \robin Hood's Bay and did a circular walk using a book called '1001 Great Family Walks' by AA, it took us out of the town towards Hawsker through fields etc and then at a large caravan site led us onto the Cleveland Way so we only covered a couple of miles of it but nice views of the sea (with sharp cliff drops so be careful !) are sometimes spoilt by overgrown greenery which probably needs to be cut back a little ? Other than that, it's great and as you get closer to Robin Hood's bay there are a couple of wooden benches installed where you could read, picnic etc ?

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We caught the 10am 115 bus from Scarborough Station to Ravenscar and walked from there to Robin Hoods's Bay. It is mostly down hill on good paths with stunning views, passing an old alum works. From Boggle Hole we walked on the beach and then explored the narrow streets of RHB. Some of the houses are Tudor and some dated 1653. RHB is well worth an hour or two to wander round.
We then walked up the hill and caught the hourly bus back to Scarborough.

Date of experience: April 2013
3  Thank johnahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My fiancée and I completed the Cleveland way long distance walk in June 2011 a year after completing the coast to coast walk, and while it is a different type of walk and not as challenging it is still well worth doing. The walk stretches 109 miles starting from Helmsley then heading along the Cleveland hills reaching the coast at Saltburn with the rest of the journey heading down the coastline finishing at Filey Brigg. This walk is a lot more relaxed than the coast to coast, with less mileage to cover each day and a lot less people on the same route therefore you can take your time more and go along at a more leisurely pace and enjoy all the wonderful places you pass through which include Osmotherly, Runswick Bay, Robin hoods bay and Whitby. If you like coastal walking, good pubs and great fish and chips than this is a great walk to do and I certainly will do it again one day.

Date of experience: April 2013
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My other half and I decided to trek the six and a half miles from Whitby to Robin Hood's Bay along the Cleveland Way. This walk is basically a cliff-top trail around the coast between the two towns. It starts off from the ruins in Whitby, and comes out above the bay. Not having researched the walk beforehand, we figured it would be a nice romantic walk (not too difficult), and we'd have it done in a couple of hours. We realised how wrong we were less than a mile in, when we saw the walkers coming in the opposite direction were decked out in proper hiking gear and walking poles. Not to be deterred, we boldly (stupidly?) carried on. Once you pass through the caravan park, if you're not a seasoned walker it is going to get a little difficult. The initial stone track disappears and it is incredibly muddy in places. There are steep slippery stone steps (both up and down), and in one place you have to cross a small stream over stepping stones. The cliff edge is not always fenced off, so I would advise you to be incredibly careful with children and pets. It took us around four hours to complete, walking relatively slowly and not properly attired. It could easily be done in 2-3 hours.

However, the walk cannot be blamed for our poor preparation. It is a beautiful path around the coast, with beautiful farmland on one side, and an amazing sea view on the other. Once you exit the trail and are back onto pavement, go straight ahead to the end of the road. Do a left, and you come to a pub on a slight bend. On the opposite side of the road is a turning with a bus stop on the right - the 93 and 93X take you back to Whitby in about 20 minutes.

Date of experience: February 2013
120  Thank Sooterkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews