We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quirky cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Falstone Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falstone Barns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic quirky cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from spending a couple of nights in the 'romantic medieval retreat' room. It was absolutely stunning and really quirky with a tree in the middle of the kitchen (check out the photos). It was extremely quiet, toasty warm with the log fire on and Nicky the owner was very helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable and the whole place beautifully decorated. The kitchen was high spec with everything you'd need - we cooked in each night. If you go don't miss the walk to Hailshaw Linn waterfall from Billingham which is stunning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    33
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
95
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Falstone Barns a few weekends back for two nights (Fri and Sat) and can honestly say it's been my favourite trip away in the UK to date. From the moment we got there to checking out I kept thinking how lucky we were to be there. We stayed in the French apartment but there was only two of us. The apartment is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Nickey (who is the most loveliest and friendly host) showed us the other apartments and they are all amazing. We didnt go any of the walk around but Nickey informed us of them if we wanted but we wanted to spend as much time as possible! We cannot wait to return and sample the other apartments! Stock up the car with food and drink and ENJOY! xxx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in the "classic opulent" appartment, no one there to check in with but key in the door. On first glance everything looked ok then once youve spent time in the place you start to see little things like no welcome note/basket,no impliments for the fire,bulbs out,already burnt down candles,advertised as having a "sunken" bath but although a lovely bathroom it is NOT a sunken bath but it does have a solid marble surround.As someone mentioned before there is a fuel like smell that lingers around the first bedroom door presumably coming from boiler but it didnt both us too much.The extractor fan is incredlibly noisy and you can hear everything from downstairs in the morning so i guess they could hear us.The sky tv doesn't give hardly any channels .We have mixed emotions re-Falstone Barns,there ARE high quality fixtures and fittings but upholstery and soft furnishings are starting to look a little tired. We paid £210 for two nights that isn't necassarily a 5 star price but then we wouldn't class the place as 5 star because all the little things we mentioned that was wrong you wouldn't expect to be wrong in 5 star accomodation.Nickey the owner seemed perfectly pleasent and informative- she has since e-mailed saying that she would attend to alot of the things we mentioned .On the plus side the place was spotlessly clean and the courtyard very tidy and surely lovely in the summer months.Its good that the Host CAN take constructive critcism and act upon it,im sure with a few tweaks this accomodation will live up to its 5 star claim.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed 29th October with my boyfriend in the 'French bourgeois' apartment. Absolutely perfect place to relax..huge bath, wood-burning fire and two lovely bedrooms. Only negative is being able to hear people walking around in the apartment above, but it wasnt much of an issue. Would defenitely recommend staying at least two nights or more, we both regret having only booked up for one night!
Very warm welcome from Nicky, very informative of places to visit, where to have breakfast etc.
I would suggest booking direct with 'falstone barns' website rather than laterooms. I had originally booked a different apartment via laterooms but later received a phonecall saying that particular room had already been booked and to change to a different room. Not a big deal but when i book up again it will be though their direct website.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed for a weekend with some girl friends in the classic opulent apartment for a get away from it all, much needed break. We had a thoroughly fantastic time. The decor and standards of cleanliness were excellent. I was impressed by the facilities available in the kitchen. The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautiful, with very comfy huge beds. We had planned a lot of cooking, made our own afternoon tea with champagne and I brought a lot of equipment with me that I didn't need to bother bringing as it was provided. This is an ideal place to retreat to and have some me time, we all enjoyed our stay and didn't really need to leave the apartment in fact it would be a shame to leave it as the decor and atmosphere is so beautiful you really need to enjoy your surroundings. Perfect for a sophisticated girly catch up with fantastic host and I'm sure it is lovely as a romantic getaway too. Well worth a visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: Classic opulent recommended for the bedrooms and bathrooms, more daylight in seating area in the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celestitemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
27.2 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
24.1 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
11.5 km away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
2.2 km away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falstone Barns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falstone Barns

Property: Falstone Barns
Address: Falstone, Hexham NE48 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Hexham
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,567 - ₹ 13,938
Hotel Class:5 star — Falstone Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Falstone Barns we have 4 5* luxuriously appointed apartments, set in a courtyard and overlooking 38 acres of private estate. We can cater for your every need, from self-catering alone or additional packages which you might like to try; such as Pamper, Fine Dining, Clay Pigeon shooting and Horseriding. We welcome Families, Groups, couples and are awarded VisitBritain Family, Walkers, Cyclist friendly. We also have one apartment which is awarded Accessibility level 2. Your very own place in the country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Falstone Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falstone Barns Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing