We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway in a beautiful, peaceful setting...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodside Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Anita N
1 review
“Perfect getaway in a beautiful, peaceful setting with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 7 April 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Woodside Lodge is a perfect getaway for anyone looking for a peaceful stay in a beautiful setting surrounded by woodlands and fields filled with wildlife. There are barn owls that regularly visit the field next to the Lodge, Gill and Neil have recently established a large wildlife pond, and there are deer in the woods nearby. Gill and Neil are wonderful hosts who can give you lots of ideas for your stay, where to visit, walk, good pubs nearby - and Gill makes the most heavenly cakes too! The lodge itself has everything you could need and more - the very large walk in shower is bliss after a day spent exploring! I've stayed twice now, it's even more peaceful in winter time and there's still lots of wildlife to see and places to visit. I'd highly recommend staying at Woodside Lodge and have passed on a link to Woodside Lodge's website to a number of friends. Thank you Gill and Neil for a perfect stay as always.

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for your very kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
588sues
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 1 April 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Top rate accommodation with fantastic attention to detail. We received a very warm welcome from Gil the hostess who showed us round the excellent accommodation. It is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The view from the bifold doors was beautifully uplifting, we saw daffodils and hyacinths and sheep and rabbits and ducks on the pond; it was so relaxing. The surrounding area is also wonderful to drive around with lots of attractions to visit. We would certainly recommend it

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for your kind words - we're delighted you enjoyed the Lodge and would be very pleased to welcome you here again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnny547...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lodge, place and hosts!”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 4 days at Woodside Lodge and what a great find it was too! Such a lovely place and in a great location. The lodge was perfect, everything about it was quality from the lovely bed, amazing shower right through to the superb quality plates and bowls! It was superbly presented and some lovely extra touches like the food basket and homemade scones that were waiting for us on our arrival (which were yummy!). Gill and Neil (and Bill, their dog!) were so friendly and accommodating, and gave us tips on where to visit. It went so quick and we wished we could have stayed for longer. We will definitely be back at some point and are recommending it to friends and family. Thanks again Gill and Neil - see you soon I hope!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Aug 2018
Hi Johnny Thank you so much for your very kind words: we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Woodside Lodge and look forward to welcoming you, and your family, to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lodge in amazing surroundings”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We booked Woodside lodge as a last minute trip after suffering losses within our family and wanted to get away from Blighty..
On arrival we met Neil and Gill who were both lovely. Gill showed us into our lodge and went through how things worked and even went to get more towels for our son Seth.
She then left us to settle in and find our feet. There was a fab welcome hamper with our favourite supermarket goods, home made scones and jam. They went down a treat
The lodge it’s self was gorgeous, no expense spared on the decor, furnishings, bed linen and shower products. It had everything we needed and more. The shower was amazing also.
We had a wonderful relaxing stay and will definitely be re-booking another stay later in the year to enjoy some more sunshine on the balcony over looking there new pond.
Thankyou Gill and Neil..

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
Thank you so much ! We're really pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The pond should be completed soon and we're hoping for lots of wildlife which you can show Seth, who is an absolute delight! Thanks again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
74-75mike...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and romantic ”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed a week before Christmas and enjoyed every minute. Gill is a
delightful host and the place felt warm and loved with lovely wood
doors and a marvellous walk-out balcony. The lounge area is comfortable and has good views.
Kitchen is well-equipped with a good fan oven, induction hob, microwave oven, dishwasher and
Washer-drier that worked fine. The
Bathroom has a large walk-in shower.
There are good local Pubs within a short radius
Of the cottage and Hexham is a pleasant 10 minute drive away.
I throughly recommend it for a peaceful, romantic break.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words: it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay, particularly when you had travelled so far, and we would be delighted to welcome you again at any time. With our very best wishes for 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing