We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

I'm always wary of B&B accommodation but this was ideal. Good location, nice room, good breakfast and run by very friendly couple

Rarely leave reviews but this deserved the effort even when trip advisor force you write more details these days

Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyMason65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon and felt a very warm welcome as the property had areal family atmosphere about it.
The building is an amazing example of the types of architecture in the residential buildings around Hexham. Arched front door and stain glassed porthole window is almost monastic in design .
Breakfast time ,nothing was too much bother. My wife enjoyed the "FullEnglish" presumably local produce but well presented and grease free.
The en-suite room was spacious and spotless with two lovely windows offering views across the fields and woodland.
We anticipate re visiting Hexham and definitely be staying here again .
First class.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This B&B was recommended by the local tourist office. We asked for a place close to the centre so that we would not have to drive to a restaurant for our evening meal.Uphill all the way to get there and we thought it was too far from town. Our doubts were dispelled when we saw the rather grand house, more like a hotel than a B&B, and were shown to our little apartment by the genial Peter.We had a small suite. Sitting room, large bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Everything bright and clean and we reckoned a downhill walk was no hardship.We found a restaurant gem just 20 minutes away, Le Bouchon.at 4 Gilesgate.
After an excellent breakfast Peter gave us advice and information re our visit to Hadrian`s Wall which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Tip for National Trust members. Housesteads Fort is the only fort where entry and parking are free.The others are English Heritage It is also possible to walk on the wall at this location. The visitor centre and museum on the hill are well worth a visit.
High Reins house is definitely one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

An excellent B&B, rooms were well finished and kitted out.The owners were very friendly and helpful. It's a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Hexham which is a pretty market town with good local shops.I would highly recommend booking this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Just to echo the praise of the other reviewers. Clean, pleasant, friendly. 10 to 15 minute downhill walk into town, or a short drive. If parking in town, make sure you have a Parking Disc.
The only slight niggle is the complicated layout of the house, so some signs would be helpful.
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdBlackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews