We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
17
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon and felt a very warm welcome as the property had areal family atmosphere about it.
The building is an amazing example of the types of architecture in the residential buildings around Hexham. Arched front door and stain glassed porthole window is almost monastic in design .
Breakfast time ,nothing was too much bother. My wife enjoyed the "FullEnglish" presumably local produce but well presented and grease free.
The en-suite room was spacious and spotless with two lovely windows offering views across the fields and woodland.
We anticipate re visiting Hexham and definitely be staying here again .
First class.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This B&B was recommended by the local tourist office. We asked for a place close to the centre so that we would not have to drive to a restaurant for our evening meal.Uphill all the way to get there and we thought it was too far from town. Our doubts were dispelled when we saw the rather grand house, more like a hotel than a B&B, and were shown to our little apartment by the genial Peter.We had a small suite. Sitting room, large bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. Everything bright and clean and we reckoned a downhill walk was no hardship.We found a restaurant gem just 20 minutes away, Le Bouchon.at 4 Gilesgate.
After an excellent breakfast Peter gave us advice and information re our visit to Hadrian`s Wall which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Tip for National Trust members. Housesteads Fort is the only fort where entry and parking are free.The others are English Heritage It is also possible to walk on the wall at this location. The visitor centre and museum on the hill are well worth a visit.
High Reins house is definitely one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

An excellent B&B, rooms were well finished and kitted out.The owners were very friendly and helpful. It's a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Hexham which is a pretty market town with good local shops.I would highly recommend booking this accommodation.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Just to echo the praise of the other reviewers. Clean, pleasant, friendly. 10 to 15 minute downhill walk into town, or a short drive. If parking in town, make sure you have a Parking Disc.
The only slight niggle is the complicated layout of the house, so some signs would be helpful.
Would certainly stay again

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdBlackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After extensive research on TA, I selected High Reins and Hexham as our base for a recent Hadrians Wall area tour. I am a little perplexed as to why High Reins has so few TA reviews. Seems like most guests would want write about their experience here. The 10 or so existing reviews all echo the same excellent comments I summarize below.

Location - well positioned above the market town of Hexham. Short drive into town and not an unmanageable walk for those so inclined, but uphill most of the way back from town. Well manicured grounds with a nice view from the backyard.

Rooms/facilities - large, attractive house. Our family group of 3 had the "suite" in the back. A twin room and a double room which shared a newly remodeled bathroom. Rooms were clean with coffee/tea & small TV and everything was in working order. Comfortable beds that were made up for us each day - nice touch! Entry to our suite through the main house or also accessible from the driveway. The breakfast room/lounge for the guests was large and very comfortable and made a nice spot to watch world cup football each evening. Strong wireless internet signal available in the lounge. Overall condition of the house and facilities was well above average for a B&B at this price point in my opinion. I did not see any of the other rooms in the main house.

Breakfast - Peter and Jan served up a delicious English breakfast or any variation thereof that we wanted. Good selection of cereals and fruit.

Hosts - Peter was just as warm and welcoming as could be and went out of his way to answer questions and make sure we had everything we needed. A great host.

Local area - Hadrians Wall was on my bucket list and did not disappoint. We engaged the services of Sue Wardle - a local Blue Badge guide - to show us the sights. She was terrific and I would highly recommend using Sue or another guide to see the wall, particularly if you don't have a lot of time as was the case for us. Hexham is also centrally located to see other nearby market towns, Newcastle and Durham sights. Great part of England - a little off the beaten path for many US tourists I think.

Room tip: The double and twin in the back share a large bathroom - ideal for small family group.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurotripper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews