We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing family weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The dining area with oak decking leading to the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The dining area with oak decking leading to the balcony
The lounge area. Tastefully presented throughout The cinema room, complete with full SKY TV package and Blu ray DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The dining area with oak decking leading to the balcony
The lounge area. Tastefully presented throughout
The cinema room, complete with full SKY TV package and Blu ray DVD player
The spacious kitchen featuring granite worktops and a large range cooker
The master bedroom. King size bed and ensuite
The second double bedroom with wall mounted LCD TV
A single bedroom with wall mounted LCD TV
This room can be set to have two single beds. A wall mounted LCD TV also features
The garden area. Patio seating and an astroturf football pitch
The main bathroom featuring a shower over the bath
The view of the front of the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abeedar2
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing family weekend”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A beautifully put together apartment with so many quirks and so central. We love York and were so pleasantly surprised with this find, it is truly a wonderful house with so many amazing features. I would have happily spent the entire weekend just enjoying the house.

The sauna and steam shower were a fabulous added extra

Abeeda

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandora_L...
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stunning house, fabulous location”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just returned from 2 nights at Holgate Road.
I am happy to say the house was everything we had hoped for , in fact better.
Everything need was provided and more.
You are very close to York station and within walking distance from a local sainsburys and Micklegate.
The house is located nr the rail track at the back and a couple of guests said they heard trains but only on the first night and it wasn't really a problem.
I think our only feedback for room for improvement would be a request for more seating in the cinema room and the front lounge , but thats being very picky!
A big thumbs up from us , all said they would return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Thanks very much for the feedback Laura. Great to hear you all enjoyed the stay. We'll have a look at the seating setup in the cinema room and see if there's anything we can do on that front. Chris (Stays York).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs-and...
Wragby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A fabulous place!”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

2 families (3 and 4) wanted to visit York for a couple of days in the half term. I suggested getting a house so we could socialise and have enough room for teens/kids to mooch. The town house seemed to fit the bill. We got there and was blown away from the start. A stunnning period town house with all the mod cons and beautifully presented. Top floor (4th) perfect for the family of 4 with their own bathroom. 3rd floor perfect for us 3, a cute single room and a huge double with ensuite. Beds were so comfy. Living areas were perfect, big kitchen diner with outside balcony and a lovely lounge. In the basement a fantastic cinema room and gym all beautifully done. Back garden with Astro turf mini football pitch finished off a stunning place. Garage and parking fine to 2 large 4x4 tho was a bit hairy trying to get down the lane to it!

The only downside for the townhouse is the noise from the railway at the back and the road noise at the front, but with some ear plugs it wouldn't spoil what is an excellent base to explore York.

York itself only 10 min walk through a nice area, find the walls and walk along or through the middle of the arch to all the fantastic things York has to offer. It has loads!! Also only 10 mins walk to the train station.

All in all a perfect base for a pretty perfect Wragby on tour trip and I hope to visit the town house very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_coll...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb house.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house and all of its facilities were absolutely outstanding! It was just perfect for our needs and very clean. Only minor issue was shower screen in second floor bathroom leaked. We would definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbow_n...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here as a group of 6 adults, and 2 children (including a toddler), in January 2016, for a weekend break. The house is beautiful and a convenient location - only 5 min walk to nearest shops, restaurants/pubs and a cinema; and about 15 min walk into the city. Given the time of year, and the size of the house, I was worried it might be a bit cold, but the rooms were comfortably heated and we were lucky enough to have decent weather, so our son made good use of the outdoor garden with goalposts and basketball hoop. He was pleased to find there was also an air hockey table in the garage, and a huge collection of footballs!
The garage housed one car and there were parking spaces in front of the garage door for another 2 cars. Be careful entering the narrow lane to get to the garage though. There isn't much room for access. The garage leads to the rear garden, and entrance to the lower ground of the house. There was a lovely decking area with patio furniture, but too chilly for us to sit outside at the time. The TV room was situated off this entrance, in addition to the one-person sauna, the gym (excercise bike and tv), and the multi jet shower. The lounge, kitchen, and balcony seating area were on the next floor. Here there was the front door here leading outside; down a couple of steps to the front paved garden, and on to a main road into York. There was plenty of room in the house to store the pushchair without it getting in anyone's way.
The next floor up sited a large master bedroom with en-suite shower room, and a smaller double room. Up again to the next floor, which has another double bedroom, twin room with pull-out bed, and a large bathroom.
The quality of the furnishings and kitchen equipment was excellent. Our only quibbles were that there was insufficient bedding for our party due to a mix-up over the numbers, and we couldn't get hold of anyone on the contact number we were given until 12 hours later. So we had to cobble together bedding consisting of throws from all the other beds. There was also only 1 tea towel for a party of 8 of us - maybe they didn't expect us to eat in! One of our party mentioned that the top storey bed was in fact an uncomfortable futon and their sleep was disturbed by the nearby train line. There was also no tv in the master bedroom (description says tv in every bedroom).
Overall I would recommend this property for a short stay. It's beautiful, has all mod-cons, and in a convenient location. We stayed in the front master bedroom so couldn't hear any noise. Not sure therefore if the trains would have bothered us. We've lived on a busy road in the past and found that we could zone out of any noise, but our party live in a quiet road and aren't used to it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house and convenient location.
Liked least: Near train line and unable to contact anyone when there was a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 312
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing