We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House Rental for our wedding at The...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 32 Marygate

Master Bedroom looking through to bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom looking through to bathroom
Street View Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Master Bedroom looking through to bathroom
Street View
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Dining Room
Bathroom
Conservatory
Master Bedroom
Garden
Welcome Pack
The Minster
St Mary's Abby
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmmaVC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing House Rental for our wedding at The Hospitium”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here the night before my wedding at The Hospitium in the Museum Gardens with my Mum, sister and bridesmaid and we were so happy with the location. The house is so close to the Museum Gardens I could walk to the wedding with my Dad as it was less than a 2 minute walk away.

Sarah who owns the property made us feel really welcome and even met with me a few months before the booking to show me just how close to The Hospitium the house was, on arrival at the house she had got us bread, butter ,jams,
prosecco etc and there were fresh flowers throughout the house. It's the small touches like this that really made this such a special stay for us all.

The house is really clean and although it is oldy worldy i.e lots of small spaces and small doorways it still felt big enough for 4 adults and the hairdresser on the morning of the wedding. The house is full of character and charm and I would highly recommend this house rental to anyone who is thinking of booking.

The bed in the double bedroom is so comfy and the views out of the window over the Museum Gardens are wonderful. We would love to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Dear Emma, it was an absolute pleasure to have you; thank you for such a thoughtful and comprehensive review. You left the house immaculate afterwards too which was above and beyond what we expected after your wedding! Ver great;y appreciated, and i do hope we see you again in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect place tostay”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

great location, central for lovely old city, but very quickly out into the beautiful countryside. Charming house, clean and in good condition, excellent stylish decor, very well equipped. Very helpful owner, there when needed but not at all intrusive. Can't wait to bookagain.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbe...
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant stay in York! Sarah's house is beautiful, and is wonderfully furnished etc. Amazing location overlooking Museum Gardens - calm and peaceful yet in the heart of the city. And Sarah's a delight - friendly and full of great ideas of things to do. We'll definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tusko963
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We've spent 3 lovely days in York,staying in 32 Marygate which has been the loveliest,peaceful and calming base for our trip. Clean and beautifully presented with excellent hosting from Sarah. The house has everything you could needed is so close to the delights of the city that you can walk everywhere- amazing to have all this on the doorstep. Very pleasing original artwork on the walls and interesting books about the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megan388
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at 32 Marygate during a long weekend in York. The house is absolutely beautiful, everything was perfect upon our arrival, and Sarah and her daughter were extremely welcoming. I arrived earlier than anticipated and they both made sure everything was sorted as quickly as possible for us and due to the fact no-one had booked to stay after us they were lenient on check out time. Sarah was extremely thoughtful leaving us some treats for our stay and texting us during our trip to advise she was going away but would be contactable on a different number. The house is in the perfect location for a trip to York and couldn't be more central, everything we wanted to see was max 10 minutes away and involved a beautiful walk through the Museum Gardens. I couldn't recommend this house and Sarah as a host enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thank you Megan for such a great review. So glad you had a good time, do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing