We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday visit - friend’s 50th”

Pitcher & Piano - York
Ranked #151 of 1,001 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A group of 18 of us visited Thursday afternoon. Quick service. 2-4-1 cocktails. Lovely ambience.

Great location by the river.

Thank aratelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_York, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi aratelli!

It's fantastic to hear that you have enjoyed your visit to P&P York for the big 50th of your friend! We really are quite lucky with where our venue sits and I'm glad you were impressed with your experience!

We hope that you choose to visit us again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Sam Thornton
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch. Staff were very accommodating for the baby and toddler. Even though it was Easter Sunday it was quiet in the restaurant. Service was quick and staff were friendly and attentive. Only downside is no lift so had to carry prams upstairs.

Thank Jcw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_York, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Jcw90!

Thank you for visiting us on the Easter holiday and for taking the time to leave some feedback on your experience! I'm very glad to hear that you thought our service to be friendly and attentive - we do make every effort to ensure the comfort of our guests. We like to keep the upstairs exclusively as a dining area on busy days to preserve dining pleasure.

I'm sorry that you had to carry your prams upstairs, we do have a passenger lift located at the far end of the bar which services the upstairs restaurant. It's our fault that we have not made this clearer at the front entrance and I shall look to rectify this for when the top bar is in use next.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Sam Thornton
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here for lunch, the place has good views and is in a good location but that’s about it.

Waitress seemed un-organised and drinks seemed to take ages to arrive. I found the food menu a bit boring and overpriced. Opted for squid starter which was nice but very greasy. Club sandwich for a main and found it dry and looking like it had been thrown together.

Other meals Cesar salad which was ok and kids meals were ok.

Waitress was a bit harassing, asking if we wanted more drinks even though all our drinks were full? Seemed she was just asking as she had too.

Place lacked atmosphere and wasn’t very busy and was cold. Left after eating to discover other bars and restaurants near by were very busy?

Left feeling let down by the pitcher.

Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_York, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Bryan,

Feedback is vitally important to us - it helps us identify what we're doing well and where we need to improve. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience.

It would appear that on this occasion that we have let ourselves down in quite a few areas, for which I can only apologise. We try to create a casual yet prompt service style, and by the sounds of it your waitress didn't quite strike the correct balance we expect. Our floor team are prompted to ask their guests if they would like more drinks, but clearly this wasn't necessary when you already had full glasses.

I'm very sorry to hear that you found the calamari small plate to be greasy and club sandwich dry. I can only imagine that the squid hasn't been given time to adequately rest following frying and the sandwich bread was over toasted. I will speak to our chefs to ensure they're aware of these issues moving forward.

We do try to aim our menu pricing such that it is comparable to that of our competitors, something we review constantly and update twice a year. Our new Spring/Summer menu has now launched, which we think has a much better variety of dishes suitable for the (hopefully) sunny weather to come!

I do hope that you consider revisiting us here in York such that we can rebuild your impression of our venue.

Kind Regards,

Sam Thornton
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Had a round of drinks with the girls on a weekend trip away. Good view of the river with comfy seats and good service.

Thank eezylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_York, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi eezylife!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience with us here at P&P York!

It's great to learn that you enjoyed some of the beautiful views we have of the river and received good service on your visit. We can get quite busy over the weekend so I'm glad you managed to grab a table for you and your friends!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Sam Thornton
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Although our booking was quite late in the evening over a holiday period when one might have expected staff to be a little anxious to serve us and close up - the opposite was the case - we were not rushed and were made to feel very welcome. The food was well presented and very tasty.

1  Thank jamiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_York, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi jamiso!

Thank you for visiting us here at P&P York and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience!

It's great to hear that you were impressed with the food and that the service was not found to be lacking when you may have expected it to be. We always strive to provide the best care of our guests, regardless of the time we welcome them!

I do hope we see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Sam Thornton
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - York also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing