We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very tasteful haven of tranquility.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 109 Nunnery Lane

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidbt20...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very tasteful haven of tranquility.”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

In the fascinating and exciting city of York with so much to see and do, 109 Nunnery Lane is a haven of tranquility! The tasteful decor and furnishings combine to create a calm , cosy and relaxing ambience.
Everything is of a very high standard - a well equipped kitchen, beautiful bathroom, attractive bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The sitting room is well equipped with TV, Wifi and DVD player; board games and books to suit a wide variety of tastes. Cleanliness throughout is of the highest standard.
The location is ideal - just outside the city walls on the south side with 3 delightful walking routes of 10 minutes to the very centre of York
A delightful find that enhanced our visit to York!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thanks for the lovely review David, and the useful notes you left at the house too. Do come and visit again, you will be more than welcome. Kind regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and cosy house plus super location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautifully decorated, immaculate but - more than anything really cosy - house with extremely well equipped kitchen and a fantastic location close to city walls and within walking distance of everything including railway station. The house is minutes from trendy Bishy Road with cute cafés, delicatessen shops, supermarket and excellent fish & chips. We felt immediately at home here and would definitely like to come back, next time in a slightly warmer season. Thank you, Julie for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you Jane, really pleased you utilised the house to its maximum. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards, Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
393HazelH
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful holiday home in very handy location”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautifully done and very comfortable. We parked the car on the first evening and then didn't move it until the day we left. It's very handy for everything we wanted to do in York - we walked around. The local shopping was an added bonus.
Julie made us very welcome when we arrived. We had one of the meals which she offers on her website and it was delicious.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How modern and chic it was
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Hi Hazel
Thanks so much for your kind review - now you know where we are please do come and stay again - you were perfect guests!
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Little Town House”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here the 1-4th December, on a short break with my partner, we were greated by Julie herself who showed us where everything was located and using the heating etc. The place was lovely and warm on arrival and we even had home made baking for us and other goodies. Its a beautiful and tastefully decorated property, we couldn't believe the quality of the bed linen, crockery and wine glassses. Will definately recommed it to freinds and can't wait for our next visit to York which we have already booked with Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review Karen. You were perfect guests and I look forward to welcoming you back. Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing