We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable modern home in the heart of ancient...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 8 Merchants Place

A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
A view of the overall location of the apartment, which is in the block on the right.
The lounge has a great view of the Merchants Adventurers' Hall
The balcony is very safe - our 2 year old loves it…throws bread to the swans!
The view of Cliffords tower, looking left from the balcony
Secured paved entrance
View from the balcony
View from the balcony
The master bedroom also has river views
Both bedrooms have large amount of storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Christine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable modern home in the heart of ancient York”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Friends and I rented this lovely apartment in December 2016 and had a wonderful stay. It's modern and minimalist yet still warm and cosy and so perfectly located in York. We also appreciated the lovely restaurants just a short walk away. We look forward to returning soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Really happy you had a great time Christine, thanks for coming and please do contact us directly when you come back - we can usually offer a decent discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thanks guys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bev C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed it was a beautiful apartment so clean and the views over the river were beautiful so peaceful too would definitely recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was all amazing
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thanks for the review guys, really appreciate it. Look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna N
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Merchants Place with my Husband and daughter who is aged 3.
Miranda and Chris's apartment is truly lovely, clean, spacious and in the perfect location.
We parked our car and didn't move it again until we came to leave. Just a 5 minutes walk to the Shambles and 10 minutes to the Minster and other attractions.

We were greeted by Polly, the housekeeper, who was friendly, helpful and super nice.

I would without hesitation stay here again, we all really enjoyed our weekend in beautiful york and this beautiful apartment.

Thanks so much to you all xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your very kind words, it means a lot to us to know that we are getting it right most of the time, please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLabno
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment cannot wait to return!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for the weekend with 2 friends to attend a professional conference at the university. We could not have found fault even if we were trying - from communication with the owners before and during the stay to the apartment itself we were blown away.

The apartment was spotless and so gorgeous - it's furnished and finished off immaculately and we felt quite spoilt. It has 2 very good sized double bedrooms and all the facilities you would ever need for a comfortable stay.The main bedroom overlooks the river as does the balcony from the living/dining room. Sitting on the balcony with a glass of prosecco on Friday night was a fantastic start to our stay!

The location could not be better - it is easy to find and you feel very safe despite being in the city centre as there are secure gates. We were a minutes stroll from the most gorgeous restaurants, shops and bars and a lovely 10-15 minute walk to the university. The parking was ideal - it is just a short stroll along a footpath to the apartment and it's great that you don't have to pay any extra for it.

In terms of noise - of course there is some feint noise of an evening during the weekend. It is a city centre apartment surrounded by the hustle and bustle. It certainly did not keep us awake and in fact I quite liked the buzz of the nightlife.

Some of my favourite things:

Fluffy towels provided
Plugs next to each bed side
Hair dryer provided
Balcony
Gorgeous bathroom
Bagels and Jam from a gorgeous little deli as a welcome present
Parking
Wifi
Hand written book of tips and things close by

I would highly recommend this apartment and am already planning to take my Mum back here for a weekend away.
Kate x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Hi Kate - thank you for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your mum!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing