We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation & great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sarah M
Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation & great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in this very clean & modern 1 bedroom apartment with our 2 children. You couldn't get any better than this. What you see on internet is exactly what apartment is like. Shops, resturants & pub on your door step. Plenty for kids to do & everything within walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
I am very glad you had a good time! Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment, and a lovely owner.”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed for 4 nights at Gillygate Central.
Upon arriving we were very impressed with just how nice and clean everything was. It's a very modern feeling apartment complimented with modern appliances and facilities.

The location couldn't be any better, being very close to the shops, which helped given we'd come back with bags of new clothes etc each day.

Lynne's also a lovely host, very easy to get on with and easy contactable, she made me and my girlfriend feel very welcome.

We'd definitely want to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The décor in the apartment, coupled with the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thanks very much for such a great review. It's wonderful that guests seem to really love the apartment - that's what we want to hear!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann N
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent place to stay ticking all the boxes and could nt have asked for more”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My sisters and I stayed here first week in September. It was a great choice as was very nicely situated in the centre of everything . The place was warm and inviting and the owners have thought of everything for their guests comfort. It ticked all the boxes for us we loved it and are recommending it to anyone who wants to visit York. We would certainly stay there again. The owners themselves were very friendly and helpful. They have done a great job.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's accessability and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
How great and thank you so much for your lovely comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westie4me
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A spacious and very clean apartment, with all amenities. Excellent location for all the main attractions York has to offer. Great place to come back too and relax in after a days sightseeing and shopping. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Lynne and Mike could not have been more helpful. We had a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and location of apartment.
Liked least: Lack of a railing for coming down the outside stairs to old on too.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
It was so great that you and your sisters could get away together and we are very pleased you had such a good time. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base to explore York”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked Gillygate Central for my parents short break in York in August. Since their return they have talked non-stop about how fantastic York was and how their trip was made extra special by their stay at Gillygate. From the spotlessly clean, modern apartment to the warm and friendly owner Lynne, everything was perfect. Sincere thanks from Brian and Judy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
It was our pleasure to meet such lovely people who appreciated the apartment and our beautiful city. We look forward to their return visit which is already booked!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing