We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Works Team Outing From Kent

The last stop on our guided pub tour of the city and arguably one of the best stops in terms of... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Noshfordosh
,
Marden, United Kingdom
via mobile
Worth breaking a journey here even if not on your route

Nice wee boozer in the railway station. A piece of history, much like the station itself. A great... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Sonas1
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 490 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around York
from US$ 16.85
More Info
from US$ 25.28
More Info
from US$ 17.55
More Info
from US$ 22.47
More Info
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
255
142
47
18
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
142
47
18
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real ale station pub great pub quick pint station platform stained glass windows model railway beautiful building ales train keg pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Unfortunately, a rather rude barmaid accosted us as soon as we walked in. The bar was empty but our party of 9 were not allowed in. We were not rowdy, we were polite but we were told no fancy dress. We were not in fancy dress! There were no signs, no warnings, nothing! We were made to feel very unwanted. The barmaid did serve 3 of our group but when we then sat outside, the manager called one of our group stupid. Absolutely disgusting!!!!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

A lovely traditional pub serving a wide range of drinks including a large selection of real ales.

It was disappointing to find the toilet facilities in a dirty unkempt condition, especially at a time when trying to combat infectious conditions like covid 19 !

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank cherdelysek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Must visit pub in York by train station. Great selection of real ales. Nice friendly staff. Pub was cleaned.

Don’t use the Toilets as they were less than satisfactory - filthy and disgusting.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank occyCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Located in York Railway Station is a great real ale bar called York Tap ,a wonderfully drinking establishment I always make a beeline to whenever I am in York.
Housed in a former tearoom that dates from the early 20th century, its a Grade II listed building actually, the bar looks great, pubby decor and furnishings, faux skylights ,an island style serving bar dominates the main room and there's plenty of seating options spread throughout this bar both inside and outside on the railway platform.
My twin brother Stephen and I were here on a Tuesday evening, greeted warmly by a very pleasant member of the staff, we had a study of their real ale's and we both opted to have Kirkstall Brewery pale ale,these were served in excellent condition, we just kicked back, chilled out and took in the great bar we were in.
My pale ale was really good, a crisp, well balanced pale ale with a big hit of hops, hints of toffee and a delicious aroma, on a hot evening a totally refreshing brew, it was just so good being in such a lovely bar enjoying a quality brew and to be honest being back in York again after all the recent travel restrictions.
We both really enjoyed our pale ale's in here before we moved on and as on every other visit to York Tap we had a very positive experience.
York Tap is easy to locate in York Railway Station.
Opening hours are;
Monday to Saturday, 11am till 11pm.
Sunday, 11am till 10pm.
A wonderful bar in a fantastic location, most definitely well worth checking out if you're in the area.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

It was race day and you would think the pandemic was over. The place is very busy again catching the York race leavers desperate for one more drink before missing a train or two and for thirsty travellers on their way home. Superb interior with original features form the day it was the tea room. Excellent service for drinks. This is not a food place - crisps if you are lucky but it a lively convivial convenient watering hole with superb range of beers and decent wine selection.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank gourmetflaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews