We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
98
115
57
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
115
57
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian chef car park city centre basement room full english priced hotel bed was comfortable bad points free parking excellent breakfast cooked breakfast busy road convenient location early hours tea and coffee both mornings train station
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The free car-park was hidden away at the back of the hotel, and not well signposted. There was no-one at reception when we arrived, but a notice advised telephoning a number, which we did, and a staff member arrived very quickly.
Check-in was efficient. Our room was small with a double bed, chair, dressing table and small wardrobe. There was a roomy en suite bath/shower and toilet room, with a sliding door. Tea/coffee-making equipment was provided. The sash-window would not stay up, so we used the rubber door-stop to let some air in. The central heating was too warm for our taste. My daughter's single room was very small, but did have an en suite wash-basin, and use of a shared bath/shower wc room along the corridor. she thought that the temperature was OK. Breakfast was very good. The location of the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the city-centre, and slightly closer to the National Railway Museum. For lunch and evening meals there are plenty of eateries in the city. There is not much of interest in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelAug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Ok room for 3, in a close location to the city walls. Private parking, and garden to rear. Excellent breakfast. Only lack was a coat rail in the room. The. Crystal Palace pub nearby is greAt...coal fire, and splendid Stout.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DonaldA154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed all last week at this Hotel, our 7th Visit since 2012. It is an excellent cheaper priced Hotel in a fantastic location just outside of the City walls with its own large carpark. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are brilliant with a big amount of choice. Being an old Victorian House some areas are outdated but the rooms are warm, dry and contains all the basics necessary for your stay and with comfortable beds and very reasonably priced.

Room tip: rooms at the back are quieter
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The hotel is located withih easy walking distance of the city centre.

York is a small city with a lot of pedestrian areas and many sites are within walking distance of each other.

The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and in the case of our room, quiet. The breakfasts were great with all that was required.

There were a couple of niggly matters which did not detract from our enjoyment.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely worth the money and is not far at all from the city centre. After reading the reviews about the shower I was pleasantly surprised with our shower it was absolutely fine! Don't know what all the fuss was about it! The staff here are lovely and very informative about the city. Would definitely come back! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dhass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews