We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location with everything you need.”

Review of Waverley

A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
A cottagey look to a townhouse close the the city centre
The living room
The living room
The dining area
The newly fitted bathroom
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back Bedroom
Attic Bedroom
Attic en suite
Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
tethersto...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location with everything you need.”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was a very quaint cottage which had everything you could need for your break. We stayed over Christmas to be near family, and the cottage was very welcoming with a few Christmas decorations up, which was lovely. The beds were really comfortable so we all slept really well.
The only down side was the bathroom being on the ground floor, as we live in a bungalow we were not used to going down stairs in the night.
The cottage was in a great location and you could easily walk into York. We took our dogs, there wasn't anywhere close by to walk them which had grass, but we got by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you for your response. I'm pleased you enjoyed your Christmas stay and found the house comfortable and convenient. I know having the bathroom downstairs is not ideal but it is quite common in this area in this type of house (the en suite in the attic bedroom means two people don't have to go downstairs in the night!). Apologies for not telling you that two or three minutes' away you can walk dogs on the path by the River Foss - perhaps I should add it to the notes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag L
2 reviews
“Great location and home from home”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely cottage like town house, in superb location for city attractions shops and restaurants. Home from home, much more than a holiday let-it has everything you could want. Owner very friendly and easy to deal with.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. You said you would like to return, we hope you do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joss1979
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Smashing location”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The owner said my 6 yr old would be fine walking to the city centre and we wouldn't require the car and it was true. It was perfect we walked miles over the 4 days and could see York minster from the attic bedroom. Lovely cottage with parking as promised can't fault it just needed a couple more days to finish sightseeing

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
York is an excellent place for walking and almost all the main sights are no more than a easy walk away. Glad your 6 year old managed it ok, and that you liked the house.
Why not complete your sightseeing with another visit?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and the proximity to York town center
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you so enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katie P
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent one week at Waverley as a family of 4 adults and 2 children. We also took 2 dogs.
The house is pleasent and homely.
All possible appliances, tools, crockery etc were provided.
The house was clean and had lots of storage for our things.
Comfy beds, lots of hot water, lovely woodburner, small but perfectly formed kitchen.
The stairs are steep but manageable.
Short, ten min walk into the city of York. Ideally placed for exploring the city. Fish and chips locally were lovely, local shop also wellll stocked and welcoming.
We will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
We hope you do come back. Thank you for a nice review. We like our guests to enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing