We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“no doubt: it's perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge into Kitchen The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
Lounge into Kitchen
The Historic frontage of County House and car park area
Communal entrance hall
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room
Mezzanine looking into Dining room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sesil
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“no doubt: it's perfect”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we spent 3 nights at the end of July. 2 adults and a 9 years old child.
We stayed in 6 different apartments during our travelling this summer and with no doubt this was the best of all. The flat is much better than it looks on photos. We loved the location, the building, the secured parking lot, the Sainsbury around the corner, etc.. and really a 3 nights stay is the minimum stay you need to visit York. The flat is on the top floor but there's a lift. It's difficult we will go back as we like to visit different places but for sure I would miss it. A tip: don't put "50 county house" on google maps but only "county house monkgate york" to have the correct position.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgw1983
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic City Apartment”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were warmly met at the property, on time, by the lovely Bev who explained everything to us in detail about the apartment and gave us recommendations for things the local area.

My partner and I were very happy with the apartment. It was spotlessly clean, well laid out with comfortable furnishings and decorated to a high standard. Everything you need is provided from towels to tea bags, our needs were fully met. The kitchen is particularly well equipped with everything you need. The bedrooms are on a mezzanine floor, but still maintain a degree of privacy. We felt comfortable at all times, better than a home away from home. We were pleased that we could leave at the agreed time with nobody breathing down or necks making sure we were out.

If you have never been to York before, this apartment is ideally located for your explorations, withing walking distance of York Minster, Jorvick Centre, Yorkshire Museum, York Castle Museum, The Shambles etc. The main shopping area is a few minutes walk away and there is a Sainsbury's supermarket right next door. The bonus of a car parking space was one of the reasons we chose this property.

All communication before we arrived was great. We emailed, phoned and text Bev who was quick to respond to any of our queries. We also feel the price we paid was very fair, considering the usual chain hotels were asking for a similar amount with far less comfort.

If you chose to stay at this apartment, please respect it so many more can enjoy it as we did.

We highly recommend this apartment and cannot pick fault with it. We will be back with our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the apartment met our needs
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill I
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect base from which to explore York”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This little apartment is in a brilliant location, close to just about everything you'd want to visit in the city.
It's in a lovely old converted hospital building, with private parking. The location is fairly quiet. The apartment is beautifully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean, well-equipped and comfortable. We were two female friends and found that the privacy it gave was great. It would be fine for 2 couples, as there are 2 small, but adequate, double bedrooms.
We'd certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juhana H
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
“Brilliant apartment for a family stay in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed in this apartment with my family for a one week. We were welcomed very warmly upon arrival and given all the needed instructions. All in all, the apartment surprised us big time!

Almost everything was perfect starting with a great location - just two minutes walking distance to the city center and a large grocery store next door. Everything was clean, beds comfortable and kitchen well equipped. Despite what other reviews have told there certainly was a Wifi connection which worked flawlessly. A big plus! If you are planning a visit to York with your family, this is probably one of the best choices you would make! Very warmly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana120
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment was brilliant”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed with daughter & 2 grandchildren. Apartment was perfect for our needs. Very comfy beds. Basic food items (tea, coffee & condiments) in cupboard which we were allowed to use and milk in fridge when we arrived. Less than 5 minute walk to Goodram gate and then your in the city. Large supermarket literally next door. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatuion
Liked least: No wiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing