We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt Like Home”
other travellers have booked this property
A converted Victorian coach house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor. The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor.
The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Comfortable furnishing and central heating under your control.
TV with Freeview and DVD player
BT Infinity wireless broadband
Dining in style.
The compact kitchen has a welcome pack of useful groceries.
Leafy views from the dining table across gardens.
There are a dishwasher, electric oven, gas hob, fridge and microwave.
The king size bed in the upstairs bedroom
Views from the upstairs bedroom.
The ground floor bedroom overlooks the courtyard and is next to the bathroom.
The double bed in the ground floor bedroom
Bathroom with roomy shower and two heated towel rails
One sofa in the living area converts into a small double bed for a fifth guest in the living area.
Space to relax in a leafy courtyard
The door to the apartment (with Maytime blossoms!)
A quiet and peaceful corner 10 minutes from the heart of the city
The riverside path (New Walk) provides a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the heart of the city.
The coach house adjoins a Victorian terrace house, recently a location for ITV's  'Dark Angel'.
Handy specialist shops nearby
The Phoenix, one of the fine local pubs and restaurants - full details provided in the flat
A perfect base for exploring York...
... or the rest of glorious Yorkshire..
A cosy, private space to come home to...
with games,,,
..and space to put your feet up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cara2326
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I stayed in this flat for 3 nights to visit York and the surrounding country. It's a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom flat over two levels (one double bedroom and the bath are downstairs, other double bedroom, living room, and kitchen are upstairs.) There is a table, chairs, and small patio right outside the flat. The owner also provided a free parking permit for on-street parking (quiet residential street).

Sue, the owner, was very nice and met us at our convenience for access to the flat. She was on hand if we had any questions, but left us alone at all other times for privacy. The flat was very clean and furnished comfortably. The kitchen was small but included everything we needed to cook in. There is a very small Sainsbury's local about a 7 minute walk away (to the south), but we preferred to visit the M&S store in the heart of York (next to the Shambles) for a better selection and friendlier service.

The flat is located about a 10 minute walk away from the center of York down a lovely walking/jogging/biking path along the river. It's located in a quiet residential area, so if you are looking to stay in the heart of things with many restaurants and attractions at your doorstep, this probably isn't the place for you. However, if you are looking for something quite and comfortable, with space to relax, eat in, and move at your own pace, then I would recommend this flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite, clean, free parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Sorry its taken me so long to respond to your review! I'm pleased that the flat suited you well. Thank you for going to the trouble of writing about your experiences, as I'm sure they'll be helpful to others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amylou67
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would highly recommend the Coach House. Stayed here with a friend for a short break and it was perfect. Located in a quiet leafy area, access to the city centre was easy by foot, but equally, a great base for trips out of town as it is close enough to all major routes.
Sue is an extremely thoughtful owner, and nothing was too much trouble.
The accommodation has everything you need for a great stay in York.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I'm so pleased the Coach House worked well for you both! Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cakelover...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in York in every way”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 couples who stayed in the Coach House, and we all loved it. Sue was very friendly and welcoming when we arrived (plus incredibly flexible and check in and out times), and answered all our questions. The Coach House is very pretty and light, and is stylishly decorated with lots of attractive features. It is very near the river, along which one can walk into the centre of York in about 15 minutes. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly feel of the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We try to fit in with guests' chosen arrival and departure times, because travel plans are so individual. Glad it worked well for you, and thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShefGRG5
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect little house in the perfect location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Four of us recently stayed two nights in the New Walk Coach House and we couldn't have asked for more. We had a wedding on the friday so we had plenty of space to get ready on the day and the location was perfect for us to walk in to York on the saturday.

The house is a good size and needs everything that you could require, WIFI, TV Kitchen etc. The bathroom is nice with a huge shower and the sofas were very comfy.

The welcome pack with a lovely touch and we were very grateful considering we had missed out on lunch. There is a number of shops within walking distance so self catering is not a problem.

Dawn was very help on arrival and showed us round.

Would definitley recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
I'm so pleased your 'wedding visit' went well. Sorry we didn't get to meet, and glad to hear the arrangements to welcome you worked out. Thanks, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveC198...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days away”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, partner and another couple stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of July. We stayed over for my 30th and used it as a base for a trip to the races.
Had a fantastic stay. The location was excellent, the facilities were great, the apartment was clean and Sue was very friendly, we had everything we needed.

I will certainly be staying here again on our next visit to York, in fact I will visit York just to stay here again.

Thanks again Sue :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thanks very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing