We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic few days away”
other travellers have booked this property
A converted Victorian coach house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor. The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
A converted Victorian coach house
The open plan living room on the first floor.
The coach house apartment seen from its secluded courtyard.
Comfortable furnishing and central heating under your control.
TV with Freeview and DVD player
BT Infinity wireless broadband
Dining in style.
The compact kitchen has a welcome pack of useful groceries.
Leafy views from the dining table across gardens.
There are a dishwasher, electric oven, gas hob, fridge and microwave.
The king size bed in the upstairs bedroom
Views from the upstairs bedroom.
The ground floor bedroom overlooks the courtyard and is next to the bathroom.
The double bed in the ground floor bedroom
Bathroom with roomy shower and two heated towel rails
One sofa in the living area converts into a small double bed for a fifth guest in the living area.
Space to relax in a leafy courtyard
The door to the apartment (with Maytime blossoms!)
A quiet and peaceful corner 10 minutes from the heart of the city
The riverside path (New Walk) provides a pleasant 10 minute stroll into the heart of the city.
The coach house adjoins a Victorian terrace house, recently a location for ITV's  'Dark Angel'.
Handy specialist shops nearby
The Phoenix, one of the fine local pubs and restaurants - full details provided in the flat
A perfect base for exploring York...
... or the rest of glorious Yorkshire..
A cosy, private space to come home to...
with games,,,
..and space to put your feet up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveC198...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days away”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, partner and another couple stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of July. We stayed over for my 30th and used it as a base for a trip to the races.
Had a fantastic stay. The location was excellent, the facilities were great, the apartment was clean and Sue was very friendly, we had everything we needed.

I will certainly be staying here again on our next visit to York, in fact I will visit York just to stay here again.

Thanks again Sue :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thanks very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin123...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this flat for a trip to York; primarily to visit the National Railway Museum and the Great Goodbye at Shildon. We took the opportunity to see as much of York as possible during the time we were there, and we were not disappointed. If you like your history, then York positively reeks of the stuff, from the old City Walls and The Shambles, through to the stunning York Minster.

York is built on a more human scale than most cities, so we left the car outside the flat for most of the time we were there and walked everywhere. The flat is ideal for that, as it's a ten minute stroll into the city. There's a footpath at the end of the street that leads into the city, so you don't even have to mind the traffic! We had no problem parking outside the flat; although the parking is by a permit system, Sue supplied enough to cover the days we stayed. The flat was ideal for us, warm and comfortable, ideally located and everything we needed was supplied. Sue was a pleasure to deal with; close by if we needed anything, although the flat is completely self contained.

We enjoyed our time in York and would love to go back one day. If we do, we would be more than happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; just a ten minute walk to the city centre.
Liked least: Not enough time!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thanks very much for going to the trouble of writing this review. I'm so pleased that staying in the flat worked well for you. Hope there's a next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coverack
London
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super short term let”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a short break to York. The flat is spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. It is a duplex with one bedroom and the bathroom on ground floor. It is situated down a quite side street that leads down to the river.

Flat is a short walk to the City Centre and is a good base to explore York from. It also has an off licence (that sells a great selection of wine and cheese and even sells draft beer!) and an organic general store just round the corner as well as Sainsburys local. The owners are very friendly and helpful and even leave a pack of essentials to help with the stay. We had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack
Liked least: Wifi not reaching the whole flat
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2013
Thank you for going to the trouble of writing a review. I'm pleased to hear you received the phone we posted on to you, as well. Kind regards, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarity1...
london
1 review
“comfortable maisonette located close to city centre”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Sue is efficient and friendly, dealing with emails and questions promptly and helpfully. The property is simply but beautifully designed, and well equipped. It is compact yet feels spacious as the two bedrooms are on different levels and the kitchen rises out of the stairwell. Good sized bathroom too. The location is peaceful with beautiful views of trees and gardens.There is a small courtyard with table and chairs by front door. It feels very secure. Good local shops supply all needs and a short walk by the river Ouse, at the end of the street, takes you to the city centre and its sights. Will definitely try to stay here again on a further visit to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy friendly feel of the apartment and its tranquil setting
Liked least: liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Hilary, and we hope to see you again sometime. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cook1...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A lovely, well-appointed and quiet flat in an excellent location within easy walking distance of York town centre. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend the New Walk Coach House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Poor wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comment, Sue. It's much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing