We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing would recommend again and again”

Sotano Charcuterie & Bar
Ranked #37 of 976 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sotano (Spanish for basement) is situated in the heart of York in the Old Latin Quarter. Sotano offers a relaxed atmosphere, serving authentic tapas/small plates/sharers, fine wines, craft/world beers, rare spirits & bespoke contemporary cocktails. Open Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday from 5 PM 'til late, and all day Saturday and Sunday until 4 AM. We have Ruby Tuesdays, hosted by Chris Helme (seahorses) Live music from 9pm and live Jazz every Sunday from 9pm
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Easily missed (downstairs from ground level) but not easily forgotten. A group of six of us went and we enjoyed the wine (recommended by staff and very reasonable) and the tapas were excellent. Not your traditional sit around tables venue, quite quirky with alcoves and high tables. We will definitely go back when we return to York. Apparently open until 3pm, only wish we had the stamina to stay up that long. Fantastic night.

Thank LFandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Sotano Charcuterie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

WOW! Thank you so much for your lovely review 'LFandJF', and an extra thanks for recommending us, as you said we are a little hidden away and can be missed so we definitely appreciate our customers telling others about us.

Very happy our tapas impressed your group and you enjoyed our special atmosphere down there, we try to aim for a relaxed ambience. But yes we do stay open until 3 am, with our DJ starting at 10pm on the weekend - we start to get a little livelier. If you are managing a late one we really welcome you to pop down.

We look forward to your return.

Best Wishes
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

We have visited Sotano a few times now, both for a drink and to eat and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, good value and offers generous portions. But don't think that this is a sit down restaurant because it's not. It's a smart but casual basement bar, candlelit, intimate with just a few tables. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are unobtrusive but knowledgable and friendly. A great place to meet with friends for tapas, but not perhaps somewhere to take the kids. We would definitely recommend a visit to this hidden gem. Small in size but big on quality and ambience.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank ruthie797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Sotano Charcuterie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Amazing review, thank you so much 'ruthie797'.

So glad we've never disappointed, we like to praise ourselves on consistency so we really appreciate your thoughts.

Delighted to read our wonderful Chef Marta impressed you with her delicious food. Our staff are definitely experts when it comes to the beer, gin, cocktails, tapas and are more than happy to help at anytime with decisions.

Hope to see you again soon for some more relaxed ambience.

Best Wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Went on a busy Saturday night with the ladies, we'd booked so we had a table, I'm not sure what we expected, usually go for tablecloths and carafes, and this is none of them.
It's down some stairs in a cellar, with music and very small, the music isn't overly loud and it certainly felt Spanish in many ways.
Service was friendly without being intrusive, the food was fabulous, you really have to try the Asparagus croquettas, I can't praise the place enough and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was my seat wasn't very comfortable as I was perched on a stool, but I will be back,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 530DREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Sotano Charcuterie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hello '530DREW',

Absolutely thrilled to read you review. Its lovely to hear we weren't exactly what you were expecting but still we impressed and you had a 'fabulous' time on your ladies night.

I will be happy to pass on feedback to our friendly staff and fantastic Chef Marta.

Absolutely agree with you on the crocquettas, they definitely are a hit on the menu, I personally can't get enough haha.

We hope to host another ladies Saturday night for you soon,

Best Wishes
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

My friend and I meeting up in York to celebrate 50 years of friendship went to Sotano Tuesday 14.11.17 at 17.30 and were welcomed very warmly by the friendly staff , and treated like special guests and waited on hand and foot .The food was fantastic and the atmosphere great with live bands on it was a wonderful night .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isitgoodenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Sotano Charcuterie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi 'isitgoodenough'

Wow! What a lovely review. I am delighted to hear you chose Sotano to celebrate such a special day.

I will be sure to pass your feedback on to our fantastic staff and our Chef Marta.

Please come by again soon for more 'special guest' treatment.

Best Wishes
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

You would never know such a lovely place exists down a flight of stairs. U can see nothing from the outside but what a little treasure. Great food if u love tapas excellent portions lovely bar staff. Well worth a visit

Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W, Owner at Sotano Charcuterie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hi 'Loretta C'

So happy to hear the find was worth it. We are a little hidden away but hopefully our basement venue left you with a real Spanish and Authentic feel.

A warm welcome awaits.

Best Wishes,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotano Charcuterie & Bar also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sotano Charcuterie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing