We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great location”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great location”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We are just back from a 2 night stay here and thought it was a great little hotel. We found it easily even though we weren't familiar with York and took advantage of the free parking which is a huge plus point for a city centre hotel. Our room was on the ground floor and was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The only downside was that the fire door to the adjoining restaurant slams really, really loudly but to be honest I blame inconsiderate guests for this more than the hotel. Our first night we had noisy people in the room next to us who woke us up a few times (mainly by slamming the fire door and chatting outside our room) but they left the next morning so we slept like babies on our second night!

The room was absolutely spotless and the bathroom modern with a fab power shower. The room had a large flat screen TV, a hairdryer, iron and generously stocked tea/coffee tray. The facilities were much better than you usually get in similarly priced hotels so this was a nice surprise.

There are a few comments in previous reviews about uncomfy beds but all I can say is our room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! I usually sleep really badly in hotels but our bed was just amazing and I slept better than I usually do at home!

It would have got 5 stars if it wasn't for the noisy firedoor (it is really, really loud) but I would definitely stay here again and just ask for a room not on the ground floor. I'll be recommending it to friends and family too. We didn't eat at the hotel as wanted to see as much of York as possible but the menu looked great and we'd happily eat here if we returned.

The location is excellent and it's only a 5 minute stroll from the city centre. There are plenty of shops, pubs and cafes within a few minutes walk and the area felt quiet and safe in the evenings.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor due to other guests slamming noisy firedoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    504
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
243
876
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnsfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Rooms large and well furnished.
Excellent location as only a few minutes walk from the centre of york.
Breakfast was excellent and again great service from staff. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great location, clean spacious rooms, friendly staff good food.
Definately recommend

Room Tip: All great good access and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Plenty of on site parking, friendly staff and really good sized rooms-the bathroom was twice the size of ours at home and the bed was massive! Wish id figured out to turn the radiator down on the first night as the rooms get really warm, it was lovely and toasty to come back to after a days mooching though. The breakfast was lovely and i think i ate my own body weight in their yummy granola. Would defo return to this hotel agian in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Nice Hotel very quite and private, we only seen the receptionist at check in and check out.
We did not eat i the hotel. The location was good only 3-4 minutes from the walls.
Room was very big, bathroom also large and clean. Free car parking on site was brill.
We would stay again next time we stay in York.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,479 reviews
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,210 - ₹ 28,709
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing