We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #88 of 192 York B&B and Inns
lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very warm welcome on arrival. Our double room was very clean as was the en-suite with the surprising addition of complimentary shampoo and shower gel. Bed was very comfortable. A big plus for us is that they have their own car park at the rear. All amenties were catered for also the addition of the use of their WI-FI. A wonderful full english breakfast served in a lovely conservatory by a very helpful and friendly waitress who was also the same lady who checked us in and couldn't be more helpful. A very short walk into the city centre from so is ideally located. On departure one of the owners came to bid us farewell which i thought was really nice and friendly. All in all a lovely family run B&B which is very reasonable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Travelled to York on business. Friendly welcome from staff on arrival. Clean comfortable double room on ground floor. The towels and complimentary shower gel and shampoo which was a very pleasant surprise. Very easy walk into city centre. Excellent choice for breakfast. Definitely a place I will be returning to when doing the 'university run' at start and end of academic year as infinitely superior to the cheap hotel chain we stayed in last time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night and were extremely satisfied with the warm welcome we received and information on where to eat. The bedroom was situated on the ground floor and was spacious, comfortable and very clean. It was reassuring to have access to the private car park to the rear of the accommodation. The breakfast was satisfying and well presented with a good choice of menu. We will recommend Warrens to friends and family and return in the future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Front ground floor bedroom very spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conisbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I went to York for our Anniversary weekend in January 2011. He had booked the B&B beforehand and we expected a general, run of the mill, basic B&B. When we arrived, the place is beautiful - classy but still homely - the owner (Richard) was ever so helpful and gave us great advice on where to eat and what to do. He even gave us a map and drew directions, circling some good places to go.
They had a little bar in the lounge which operated by an honesty box - this made my day. Even though we didn't use it, it restored my faith in humanity! They also had a file of customer comments and tips for future users, including other peoples' reviews of the place, as well as places they'd been to and eaten at. We found this really useful and even added our own review - stay away from Fiesta Mehicana! I found their little A-Z of York very interesting too.
The room was spotless and spacious (we were up on the top floor) and the bed was comfy. The only thing was that the sliding bathroom door was a little loud, but that's not enough to mark them down! They had a Bible in the drawer (something I always look for) and had a kettle and tea/coffee making things as well as a very well stocked bathroom and plenty of hanging space.
Breakfast was brilliant (and we do like our food!) They had a waitress who was quick and helpful and the full English was stunning and cooked well. They also had a buffet of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juices. Everything you could possibly want for breakfast!
Even after we checked out, the owner let us keep our bags there and come back later on to wait for our taxi to the train station (we could have walked but it was raining)

I would 100% recommend this place and whenever I return to York, I know I'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinklePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just retuned from a 2 night stay at Warrens, needed longer to discover more of York. Great place to stay very friendly and accomodating, excellent food too.Room was clean and tidy no wonder it has won awards would recommend and return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#53 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 km away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#56 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#46 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.5 km away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing