We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warrens
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 125
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 141
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 287
US$ 169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 172
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 221
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
149
48
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
48
11
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Travelled to York on business. Friendly welcome from staff on arrival. Clean comfortable double room on ground floor. The towels and complimentary shower gel and shampoo which was a very pleasant surprise. Very easy walk into city centre. Excellent choice for breakfast. Definitely a place I will be returning to when doing the 'university run' at start and end of academic year as infinitely superior to the cheap hotel chain we stayed in last time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night and were extremely satisfied with the warm welcome we received and information on where to eat. The bedroom was situated on the ground floor and was spacious, comfortable and very clean. It was reassuring to have access to the private car park to the rear of the accommodation. The breakfast was satisfying and well presented with a good choice of menu. We will recommend Warrens to friends and family and return in the future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Front ground floor bedroom very spacious and sunny
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My partner and I went to York for our Anniversary weekend in January 2011. He had booked the B&B beforehand and we expected a general, run of the mill, basic B&B. When we arrived, the place is beautiful - classy but still homely - the owner (Richard) was ever so helpful and gave us great advice on where to eat and what to do. He even gave us a map and drew directions, circling some good places to go.
They had a little bar in the lounge which operated by an honesty box - this made my day. Even though we didn't use it, it restored my faith in humanity! They also had a file of customer comments and tips for future users, including other peoples' reviews of the place, as well as places they'd been to and eaten at. We found this really useful and even added our own review - stay away from Fiesta Mehicana! I found their little A-Z of York very interesting too.
The room was spotless and spacious (we were up on the top floor) and the bed was comfy. The only thing was that the sliding bathroom door was a little loud, but that's not enough to mark them down! They had a Bible in the drawer (something I always look for) and had a kettle and tea/coffee making things as well as a very well stocked bathroom and plenty of hanging space.
Breakfast was brilliant (and we do like our food!) They had a waitress who was quick and helpful and the full English was stunning and cooked well. They also had a buffet of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juices. Everything you could possibly want for breakfast!
Even after we checked out, the owner let us keep our bags there and come back later on to wait for our taxi to the train station (we could have walked but it was raining)

I would 100% recommend this place and whenever I return to York, I know I'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinklePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just retuned from a 2 night stay at Warrens, needed longer to discover more of York. Great place to stay very friendly and accomodating, excellent food too.Room was clean and tidy no wonder it has won awards would recommend and return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Excellent two night stay at Warrens. Great value for money, rooms finished to a high standard - the pictures on the website are reflective of what you experience, and our room seemed recently refurbished. A lovely central room / lounge styled in a "Sherlock" type set up. Breakfast in the conservatory was also a very pleasant experience with quality products used. Lovely to have a nice pre-cooked selection with some local delicacies such as York Honey also present. Breakfast staff were also very attentive and welcoming. Fresh strawberries and blueberries were a favourite pre-cooked buffet choice. Jenny was a great host, knowledgeable about the local area, always on hand and quick to react if you have an issue or problem. Very welcoming and accommodating on arrival too. Location is set out of the city centre / station and is around 15min walk so if you dont mind this then its fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Pyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us and posting such lovely comments. We may call it the Sherlock Lounge from now on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews