We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star quality in a beautiful, chic apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Georgian High Ceilings at Apartment 1, Bootham, Holiday Rental, York
Low lighting at Apartment 1, Bootham, Holiday Rental, York
Fluffy towels at Apartment 1, Bootham, Holiday Rental, York
Apartment 1, Bootham, Holiday Rental, York
The Spectacular York Minster, just a minutes walk from Apartment 1, Bootham, Holiday Rental, York
Take a stroll down the Shambles - it is even mentioned in the Doomsday Book of William the Conqueror
Wandering through the cobbled streets you are never far from the Minster
York Art Gallery with Bootham on the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marebert
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star quality in a beautiful, chic apartment”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a long weekend at Apartment 1, and I cannot fault it. I stayed with my husband, and 12 year-old daughter, who camped out in the living room on a perfectly comfortable fold-out bed. Although the weather was cold and nasty outside, we were really snug in our chic little apartment, with the beautiful fire and supplementary fan heater. It was fully equipped with kitchen equipment (even a washing machine), lovely towels and bedding, and even bathrobes.

Sarah was very helpful during the booking process, when our train was delayed due to bad weather, when we lost our way, and when we needed a late checkout. It was great to arrive to tea and cake, and a pint of milk already in the fridge!

Although it's on a main road it was very quiet and you could forget the traffic easily. The apartment is minutes walk from the main town, and we had lovely meals at Cafe Concerto, Lucia's and (of course) Betty's - both branches! There is a little Sainsburys and a cash till on the next block, which was really handy for grabbing a lazy breakfast to take back. It is also only 10 minutes' walk from York Railway Station.

It's an absolute gem and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AilFor
Stirling, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartment to Visit York City”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this apartment for the Christmas week 2013 for a city getaway and we were NOT disappointed. Excellent communication by the owner, Sarah, who met us on arrival and ensured we were well informed of the workings of the apartment and car parking arrangements. Oh and the Tea and Scones from Betty's - nice touch. The apartment was perfectly situated for the city and nearby public houses, theatres and Sainsbury's. Although the apartment faced the road it was on the first floor and there was very little noise. The apartment was very comfortable with all necessary home comforts. We would stay at 25/1 Bootham York again without any hesitation. Thanks again Sarah,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cifulikei...
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow - truly amazing, a different level, a hidden gem...”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Well i will be honest and this wasn't my first choice from the list of places to stay in York for our 2 night mini break, but im so glad that i gave this apartment a second look. From start to finish the communication with Sarah was excellent, the apartment was absolutely gorgeous, a beautiful, contemporary apartment which made our stay in York fantastic. The standard of the apartment was simply way above anything else that i have encountered in York and i have stopped on over on business in excess of 20 times. The location was excellent and the added facility of local parking was the icing on the cake. Centrally located, with everything only ever 10 mins away made the foul weather on the first night insignificant.
I asked Sarah for any recommendations in terms of restaurants, pubs etc and we loved every experience although the Lion & Lamb was our favorite which is about 3 mins from the apartment.
Would i go again, yes without doubt, would i recommend... that's a tough one as i don't want it to become so busy that i couldn't get availability... its simply a hidden gem that you will love.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing