We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 110
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 116
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 216
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 322
US$ 156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 97
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marmadukes Town House Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,486)
Filter reviews
1,486 results
Traveller rating
378
599
348
116
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
599
348
116
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstadcaster roadcity centrerace courseexecutive roomcross keyssmall bathroomfree parkingreception staffbus stopcar parkstayed one nightleave the cargood nights sleeptea and coffeebreakfast was excellentthe pubracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,486 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Difficult review as the room was lovely, although the bathroom was extremely small with it being an executive room.
The 4 stars is really for the amazing receptionist. I didn’t catch his name but he was of Indian/Asian appearance and was so lovely when we checked in. We did have a long check in wait which this chap apologised for and was so kind to my son, giving him high fives and then went into the back to give him a chocolate egg.
We had a 2 night stay and the problem really was with the cleaning services on our second night. We left in a hurry on Easter Sunday as we had to meet family off a train in York at 8.30am. My son had left toy tags on the floor which I hadn’t had time to pick up, I also threw a make up wipe towards the bin which missed but didn’t have time to retrieve as we rushed to leave. Also, my son dripped his toothpaste around the sink which I left after wiping his mouth and shovelled him out the door to get to the train station.
On returning to our room, the beds had been made but the room hadn’t been cleaned or hoovered. The bathroom hadn’t been touched and toiletries not replaced. I wasn’t that bothered at the time as we showered and then went off for dinner. Around 2am I woke up wanting a glass of water and when I opened the fridge, the complimentary water hadn’t been replaced. Not good enough in an executive room. What you get on night one, you should get on night two. Both waters, toiletries and a freshly cleaned room should be the same from the first night to the second.
Wouldn’t book here again but full marks to the receptionist who was outstanding.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank LisaMarie772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Checked in and went up to our room, which was lovely and clean however the back wheel on the bed was broken. Becca on the front desk was very apologetic and sent up her manager tiffany within 10mins. They presented us with complimentary drinks and snacks at the bar whilst they repaired the broken item. Upon returning to our room we found chocolate tools and a note apologising again and letting us know everything was fixed. Very polite and fantastic customer service, highly recomend!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have stayed in a number ofHoliday Inns over the years but this one doesn't really live up the best. The staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful, but that is the main positive. We booked an executive room, which turned out to be very small - smaller than our spare room at home. Whilst the hotel website claims that all the rooms have recently been refurbished, they must have forgotten to paint the ceiling in our bathroom which was yellowed and patchy. The bed was a double and I would have hoped for a king size in an exec room. It was well equipped but was still pretty tight for two people to live in comfortably. My main complaint was that the towels in our room were not well cleaned. On the first night the hand towel was marked with yellow stains and on the second, the bath towel had something that looked like baked on chewing gum stuck to the towel, with mound growing on it!
Breakfast was acceptable and we had no problems getting a table even at peak times. But if you want a good dinner go over the road to the Fox and Roman (book a table).
The hotel is exactly 25 minutes walk from the River Ouse in central York, at a reasonable pace. There is a bus service almost outside the hotel, but we enjoyed the walk because of the amazing houses down the Tadcaster road. The hotel is really handy for the racecourse and if you have a car quite easy to get to castle Howard, but there are better places to stay in York.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank otl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.
I am very sorry to read that the standard we expect all of our guests to receive had not been reached on this occasions. I will certainly be passing all the feedback provided in this review to the relevant departments to make sure that this is addressed to prevent further issues for other guest.

With regards to the linen i am very sorry to read this had you notified reception of this so that they could deal with this for you straight away as this is not acceptable and again i will be bringing this up with our housekeeping manager as to why this has happened.

Please again accept our sincere apologizes for your recent stay not being a 10/10.
If i can be of any further assistance regarding your recent stay or any further stays you may have with us in the future please email me at hr@hiyorkhotel.co.uk

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future to show you that the standards you experienced are not of the standards we expect our guests to receive and i will personally make sure that this is dealt with with the correct action.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Just checked out from a very comfortable one night stay at this hotel, still feeling full from the delightful breakfast. There’s everything you would expect from a buffet breakfast. Room was lovely, comfy bed and a comfy sofa. Tv was a bit bizarre, as in the channels were all over the place. No loud noises at night. Across the road from the hotel is a bus stop to take you to the city centre (bus number 4). It’s cheaper to get a single ticket even if you plan on returning by bus, unless your using the buses to go elsewhere. We walked back took 40mins but great exercise. My Fitbit went crazy!! Staff at the hotel really friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Hi visited January 2018 Holiday Inn the staff were lovely very helpful, the room was spotless our TV was broken kept on going on and off told reception repaired straight away ,breakfast was excellent. Tip book breakfast when you arrive better price loads of parking spaces loverly hotel would highly recommend .The hotel is open late so if you fancy a drink and something to eat only a sandwich but very nice they charge you room rate but not that expensive .x

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews