We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Minster Bells

The Entrance Porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses
Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Modern Fully Equipped Kitchen with Integrated Appliances
Lounge - A large bay window great for watching the world go by (especially for children)
Lounge - with an original Victorian slate fireplace.
Master Bedroom with Period Features
Twin Bedded room
2nd Double Bedroom
3rd Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
A newly fitted Victorian v Modern bathroom
The Entrance Hall
An array of quaint streets literally on your doorstep
Bootham Bar - entrance to the city walls (at the end of the street)
York Minster - 2 minutes by foot to reach
Take a trip down the River Ouse. Boats have 2 City Centre Boarding points. (Lendal is the closest)
The City Wall is approximately 50 metres away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J K
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A group of 9 stayed here the first weekend in July in glorious sunshine that allowed us to make use of the lovely courtyard. Unfortunately we did have to park one of the cars in the yard, which made it a bit of a squeeze, but this didn't spoil the sun!

The location is on a busy road but this is to be expected when so close to the city centre and the staggering distance into the city more than makes up for any road noise. This probably isn't even an issue in cold weather but as it was so warm we needed windows open at night.

The house had everything we needed for the weekend and Janet is extremely helpful in the run up to your stay and whilst there. Our only issue was with the shower on the 2nd floor; it didn't seem to be able to cope with the number of showers we required and ran cold more often than not. The shower on the 1st floor was fine though so it didn't matter all that much.

Overall a wonderful weekend in a fantastic property that I would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Yes it is a shame that the courtyard in part acts as a parking space. Fortunately the balcony provides an additional place to chill and is the main sun trap. Parking adjacent to the house is £2.40 an hour so the space we provide for two cars is a real bonus. The road can be lots of hustle and bustle during the day but we find goes pretty silent through the night. It was a pity you never indicated there was a problem with the shower at the time as the issue was easily solved with the flick of a button - (there are two boilers at the house and so plenty of hot water). We are delighted that you visited York when the sun was shining, this really is when the City comes alive. We hope you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamB1965
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from a long weekend staying at Minster Bells. We all had a great time, the house is really nice, clean and well furnished, everything you need in a home away from home! The location is great too, right near the main centre, so you can easily walk to all of the main attractions in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: All the stairs!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon215
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and four friends booked this house for our annual weekend away. The accommodation was perfect. Well equipped kitchen. The condition of the house was great and it was very clean. Extra towels in the linen cupboard if you needed it along with extra pillows. The double bed at the front of the house on the top floor was very uncomfortable it seems to have a futon mattress on it. And the shower on the top floor runs cold very quickly but not too much of a problem as there is a shower on the floor below that is perfect. These were the only things we found wrong with this house. And I feel quite bad saying this because the house itself is lovely. I'd love to own it.
The location is superb! We visited all of the attractions whilst there. All within walking distance ( 2 minute walk into city). Would recommend going to a service at the Minster. It was so beautiful.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Minster Bells and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We appreciated your feedback on the questionnaire about the mattress and shower as we had more guests arriving on the day you left and we were able to check these out as a matter of priority. All mattresses at the house are proper bed mattresses (using Futon mattresses would not be conducive for guests) and the one in the bedroom you mentioned is a memory foam mattress (with no springs, lumps or bumps) the bed and furniture in that room is all brand new. We checked the mattress out and had to put it down to personal preference but will continue to monitor this in case any other complaints arise. I can assure you, we would change something straight away if it was a recurring complaint. The shower is a relatively new shower and seemed to work fine when we tested it. However, after gaining the permission of the new guests, we asked the plumber to visit the property two days later to check the shower out. He felt that one of the knobs had been forced beyond where it was meant to go due to wear and tear and repositioned this. I don't want this response to sound defensive at all and want to stress once again that we really do appreciate your feedback. We are keen that our guests are assured that we take all feed back seriously and that we will take action once we are aware of any issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house and location for York visit!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I am recommending this house. Its in a great location with parking for 2 or 3 cars at a push and has character and cleanliness.

For the price point, I am not sure you could do better.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieR320...
1 review
“Great house!”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here at the weekend and just had to write a review as the house was just perfect! It's such a great location as everywhere is within walking distance. The house had everything we needed and was clean and tidy and lovely and warm too which was wonderful as it was a bitter weekend! I would definitely recommend this house to anyone wanting to stay in York. Janet was so helpful too and was there if we needed anything. Fantastic House!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing