We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,513)
Filter reviews
2,515 results
Traveller rating
1,176
769
350
138
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,176
769
350
138
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince of wales suite red letter cigar bunker bridal suite car park lovely hotel luxury room short walk city centre eggs benedict four poster bed york minster free parking on site parking leave the car family room walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 2,515 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Visited here for a short city break with two friends. Requested hotel room for three single beds and was excellent - ideal and still with lots of room. All facilities very good. . Reception staff all very welcoming and helpful. Had meal in hotel one night - very good if a little overpriced, but presentation and quality excellent.. Hotel within a short walking distance of the centre of the City - and had parking available too. All suited our needs and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat1010bridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We were put in a room with no window sheets had stains on and carpet well worn.
Checking out was a nightmare we were accused of not paying when i could prove we had we got no apology just arrogance that the member of staff no longer worked there? Can get better and cheaper accommodation in York!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel has very lovely decor and friendly staff but our visit was really let down by the room we were allocated. The room was beautifully decorated and had a great shower but the stay was less than comfortable. We stayed on the ground floor where they don't seem to have slow close functions on the hallway doors. We were awake until the latest guests finally went to bed and up with the first guestsin the morning. By the time this came to be apparent it was 9pm, I suppose we could have complained but at that time you decide to see if it might quiet down (settled in in pjs). If you do stay at this hotel, check the noise levels before you bed in. Also very frustrating was the fact that the window didn't open. This might have been a security issue being on the ground floor, but with no air con and no fresh air it was vey uncomfortable.

The bar and communal areas again were very beautifully finished. Unfortunately breakfast was a disappointment, cold beans, bacon and hash browns, though the sausage was hot. We noted on our stay that there were lots of opportunities missed to use local produce, don't get me wrong, lovely jams, butter, beers and spirits but nothing which showcased Yorkshire-except (I presume) the tea?!!

A disappointing stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Room absolutely beautiful, food is amazing staff are fantastic and the hotel is totally gorgeous, we stayed in the prince of Wales suite it is stunning. I love this place back in a few weeks can’t wait x

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sophiedB6952VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Excellent hotel with great character,thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Short walk to city centre , had a very pleasant evening in the bar & a great breakfast the following morning. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank awestb_471558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews