We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The most excellent weekend spent here st the Churchill hotel. Stayed over the Saturday and Sunday nights, with our wedding on the Sunday afternoon and evening. It could not have been more perfect, the hotel staff were superb and the wedding was absolutely perfect. The venue was beautiful, the food was delicious and the service throughout the day was completely flawless, everything went off without a hitch. My sincerest thanks to John Wallace and his staff at this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very comfortable, but for that extra touch of luxury the Prince of Wales suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you Kathryn for posting this kind review. I speak for all of the staff in saying that you and all of your guests were a pleasure to serve and we hope to see you both again in the future (an anniversary meal perhaps?)
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    514
    256
    107
    63
See reviews for
205
1,133
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I wish to heap the highest praises on the hotel, its staff and management for making our daughters wedding a most wonderful experience. There was nothing that could not be done. The staff were attentive and helpful. The managemnt made every effort to make sure that all went well and any requestes were speedily and happily completed. The food was very good (well done) my compliments to all in the catering side of things. Table service was great and evryone I spoke to enjoyed the meal. Again, many thanks to all concerned for a simply great wedding.

Room Tip: As far as I am concerned, all rooms are good. The Bridal Suit is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWallaceYork, General Manager at The Churchill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Many thanks for leaving us this great review. It's fantastic to hear that you all enjoyed your day and we sincerely wish the happy couple all of the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My fiancée booked a night at The Churchill as part of a Living Social offer, and we combined this with a meal at Delrio's restaurant. We'd booked The Churchill a couple of years ago but they'd double booked our room and the alternative offered to us wasn't acceptable so another hotel was found for us. Anyway, this time, when the receptionist disappeared for a few seconds we feared the worst but she returned with the good news that we'd been upgraded to the Bridal (Prince of Wales) Suite! It has a free standing copper & tin bath, sofas, 2 tv's including one in the bed, a walk in shower and complimentary truffles. A nice surprise and very welcome. The bath is huge and very relaxing. The bed was comfortable but there was a fair amount of traffic noise. We had a drink in bar before dining, but beware - a Hennessey XO cognac weighs in at £13.50! A very good rating due to our good fortune.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teesside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Churchill. We had a superior room, small but clean and it had everything we needed. The hotel staff where friendly and helpful. We are very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TG g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedney Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I love this place. The upgrade to 10 Downing Suite was very much appreciated, the evening meal was wonderful, the breakfast was stunning, the staff and service all top quality. Stay here, don't bother looking anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJJeffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#25 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.6 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 km away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Property: The Churchill Hotel
Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,473 - ₹ 14,524
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing