We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Churchill Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a lovely hotel, which has been nicely modernised. We stayed there for a couple of nights. Fantastic food, friendly staff. Within easy walking distance of York Minster, we parked the car and walked in. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mascothouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,905)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,503 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked this via a living social deal and upgraded to A deluxe room.
We found the place to be very nice and friendly.
We stayed in the admiralty room which is nice, .not too sure about having an exposed bath in the bedroom but apart from that it is a good room.
We had booked for dinner but found the menu too over indulged. That said we chose to eat out but wish we hadn't.
Next time we will eat at the hotel.
It is a good place to stay with free car parking and near to the centre.
You get a box of chocolates and dressing gowns in the room which is a nice touch.
Its a shame that the bed isn't turned down in the evening when you are spending 120 a night with the discount. The room usually costs around 180 to 200.
It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My hsband and I have just returned from the Churchill Hotel, York where we stayed to celebrate my 50th Birthday. The hotel was fantastic, an old building with a modern touch. It had alot of really interesting artefacts in relation to Winston Churchill. Set in beautiful grounds the hotel is situated within easy walking distance to the Minster, Railway Museum, The Shambles and the Jorvik Centre. The room was small but very comfortable, with a lovely en-suite shower room. All the staff provided an excellent service and were welcoming,cheerful and proffesional. The food was lovely, beautifully cooked and well presented.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel from Livingsocial and I absolutely loved it. The decor was georgeous, so different and with character. The staff were so helpful and polite.
Free parking and 5 minutes walk to town centre.
Would definately go again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane6968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a voucher through Living Social for one night's stay. Great location, lovely decor, staff very friendly - would stay again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
1.2 km away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
857 reviews
0.1 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#18 of 47 in York
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,112 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Hotel

Address: 65 Bootham, York YO30 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in York
#11 Romantic Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#11 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: ₹ 8,438 - ₹ 13,658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Churchill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This late Georgian mansion stands on its own grounds and has the appearance of a country house hotel, yet is just a short walk from York Minster and all major city attractions. The Churchill has just been entirely refurbished in a style that blends the building's history with contemporary insertions. One of York's leading luxury hotels, the hotel is a unique establishment offering stylish bedrooms and suites plus the renowned, 2 AA Rosette awarded, fine dining restaurant and a relaxed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing