We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Helpful staff and good location, but unsatisfactory accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and good location, but unsatisfactory accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

On the positive side, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the station and the staff were friendly and helpful, but in other ways this hotel did nothing for the image of IBIS. Our room – on the third floor – had a work surface that was barely wider than a shelf, and curtains that only just about met in the middle. Two of the towels, though laundered, were stained, and one was so threadbare that we had to ask for it to be replaced. Sound insulation from the corridor was poor, probably because the walls and carpets are thin. We paid a winter saver rate which was a cheap deal, so perhaps it’s churlish to criticise, but I really wouldn’t want to pay anything like the full rate for such a standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations. The team and I appreciate your feedback, and we are addressing the issues you have brought to our attention.

My staff will however be pleased to hear that their efforts have been appriciated.

Kind regards.
Helen Eades,
Guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    636
    418
    177
    126
See reviews for
188
873
90
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
5.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.2 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,114 - ₹ 13,323
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing