We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,222)
Filter reviews
3,222 results
Traveller rating
866
1,060
748
369
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
1,060
748
369
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clifford's tower two double beds car park excellent location castle museum central location reception staff breakfast was excellent stayed for one night short break valet shambles pubs minster
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 3,222 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Wonderful hotel near to everything. Staff was great. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. Unique egg station let you pick what you want to have instead of eating precooked slop. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Joe T,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay.

Lovely to read you had good time and found our Hilton breakfast plentiful and my team great.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, and the breakfast was good. But the majority of the rooms aren't air conditioned, which we didn't know until we got there. The window opens slightly, just enough to let bugs in. They did provide a fan, which helped some. Also, they don't change currency to pounds, we ended up quickly going to a currency exchange the morning of our check out. Not what we usually expect from a Hilton.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vvbChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear vvbChicago_IL

Thank you for posting a review following your stay.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver to your expectations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests are comfortable and enjoy every aspect of their stay.

With regards to the air conditioning units, only our deluxe rooms have air conditioning. We do provide fans in all rooms to help maintain a more comfortable temperature. I am pleased to note that a fan was provided for you which did help.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Great hotel in excellent position.
Clean cosy rooms and friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast with eggs made to order.
Have stayed here several times and have had no real problems at all. All staff are very helpful and attentive.
Would recommend.
Only small complaint is cost of parking £19 overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank J4595XLstuarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear J4595XLstuarth,

Thank you for your review and for scoring us five stars.

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and pleased that you enjoy your stays with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about my team I am proud of them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely stay.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to York and we chose this hotel for its location. The hotel location and facilities were good and staff very helpful and friendly. There were a few downsides to the hotel. Firstly our room was advertised as tower view, although it faced the tower you would only get a glimpse of the castle in winter because of 3 large trees in front of it. I found the bathroom quite small and the plug did not work so could only have a shower. The car park is expensive at £19 per night. So when we arrived around 7pm we used the car park opposite for the first night this cost about £3.50 to park till 9am we then moved the next day to a long stay car park further down the road which cost 12.50 to park there till the following morning. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety and was tasty.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily_M1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Emily_M1806,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and found our location good for visiting York.

I regret that you found our car parking charges to be expesnive. Unfortunately, in York car parking is at a premium, especially at the hotel. However we thoroughly research the market when setting prices and I am confident that the charge we make is competitive both within the City of York and also other city centre located hotels throughout the country. In addition, our car park is both secure and offers valet parking at all times.

On a brighter note I am pleased you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast with the many choices on offer.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We stayed as a group at the Hilton and had 2 single beds as it was a 2 blokes share room. I've never slept in a more comfortable single bed. The mattress was pillow top and the pillows ultra comfortable.
Breakfast was typical continental but very good quality.
Location of the hotel is walking distance around this beautiful city and I thought the price was very reasonable for a York hotel.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear divdogs,

Thank you for your five star review.

Pleased to read you had a great stay and found the beds most comfortable and our Hilton breakfast good quality. I have shared your lovely feedback with all of my team.

Thank you for recommending the Hilton York and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews