We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Northumberland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located very close to all major attractions. Room good but could maybe do with a spruce up. Didn't have an evening meal but did have a breakfast which was top rate and served with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigStuNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on this website.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had found our central location good for exploring York and was served with a smile at breakfast.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    849
    618
    298
    142
See reviews for
538
1,188
70
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed in a Suite for the weekend and had everything you would expect, excellent hotel, with a great central location. One of the bottles of complimentary wine was actually open, mentioned to front desk on our way out, and on our return fully replenished. Have stayed at this hotel before in a guest room and will definately return on my next visit to York.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEAR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great stay and enjoyed the central location of our hotel.
I am pleased that the complimentary bottle of wine was replaced upon your return.

It is a pleasure to receive such great feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in this Hilton for a few days after our wedding. My parents kindly paid for an upgrade so we had a bigger room over looking Clifford Tower.

The rooms were bog standard, if a bit on the small size despite being a bigger room, but they do look a bit tired. The TVs were particularly disappointing, the picture quality was quite poor and they didn't even have all the freeview channels on them.

Saying that, the staff were helpful. We didn't have the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.

Your comments regarding the television picture quality have been noted and the Maintenance Manger is taking the necessary corrective action to resolve this issue.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just come back from an overnight trip to York and stayed at The Hilton York. Lovely room with twin double beds (room 316). The room was very clean and had everything you could want i.e. a decent iron/ironing board and hairdryer. The car parking was excellent as they parked the car for us and drove it out front when we left which was a bonus and very reasonable for overnight safe parking in York. The hotel faces Cliffords Tower so you are near everything. The breakfast was lovely and the staff could not do enough for you and would say this is an excellent hotel for a stay in York.

Room Tip: Room 316 is a fab twin room two double beds what more could you ask for a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at the Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be excellent, and the rooms to be great. I am also pleased that you found the car parking to be excellent too.

My team work very hard to ensure we deliver the highest standards of customer service and I am pleased that on this occasion it was no exception.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterlee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here -- a very nice hotel, clean and tidy, lovely breakfast, the service was excellent from staff, they even parked our car for us, a good central location, just round the corner from the shops

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazPeterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on this website.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely breakfast and received excellent services from my team. I will be sharing your comments with them as they serve as a great motivator.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.7 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Novotel York Centre
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,364 - ₹ 20,619
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing