We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at Middlethorpe Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Middlethorpe Hall”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

After a week of staying right in the center of London, it was a pleasure to go to York and stay at Middlethorpe Hall. My husband and I selected this hotel because of its location (outside of the city, but within easy walking distance to the center of York) and due to its extremely interesting history.

We were absolutely blown away by the excellent service and wonderful facilities at this hotel. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The meals we had at the hotel were absolutely delicious. The amenities in our room (homemade shortbread, tons of magazines to flip through, and some vintage books about life in Yorkshire) made it such fun just to relax at Middlethorpe Hall.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to any travelers looking to experience a different type of hotel travel than what you'd typically get at a chain hotel. Our stay at this hotel will be a fond memory for both my husband and myself and I'm grateful to the staff for maintaining such a wonderful property for visitors to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendale_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    218
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
205
733
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

What an amazing place for us to come to celebrate our friends Hen Do. We felt so well looked after and incredibly special.

The service was amazing – we couldn’t have asked to be better looked after by the team of staff
The food was fantastic – we really enjoyed our meal, and we were so grateful for you being so flexible and working the meal around us and our game.
The setting was perfect - from the beginning; being greeted at the door by the maître d to being served prosecco and nibbles in the Library, then being taken through to our own, private dining room (the yellow room), it all went to set the scene for our murder mystery.

Our bride-to-be had a wonderful weekend and spending Saturday evening at Middlethorpe Hall and Spa topped it off perfectly. So, thank you so much to the team who looked after us, for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westyw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Let me start with the positives: this is a charming old house which has been expertly restored. Do go down to the basement, where the toilets are, to see the photos of how it looked before restoration.

The room we stayed in was immaculately clean and had many thoughtful touches.

The gardens, though small, are beautiful, and very well kept.

Now the negatives, which, I'm afraid are more numerous!

The main thing: road noise. The house sits very close to a number of busy roads, and you're never really able to get away from it. A morning ramble in the gardens and down by the pretty lake was more or less ruined by the very loud swishing past of cars in the distance. We stayed in the main house, but next time we would opt for a courtyard room - but there probably won't be a next time, to be honest.

Food: in an old house like this it would be much better to have good old-fashioned food, not the extremely nouvelle cuisine which is offered. We found the dishes over-worked, and of miniscule size. Nor is it cheap; in fact, let's be honest, it's vastly over-priced. I know that one is paying to keep a beautiful old house, and that the money has to come from somewhere, but we should have much preferred larger portions of more traditional dishes which surely would not cost any more to provide.

Coffee: a bitter variety is used, consistently made too weak. Cost saving?

The TV remote in the room didn't work. Batteries? I didn't complain because we're not big TV watchers anyway. But these things should be routinely checked.

The spa: nice little pool, bubbly bath, steam-room and sauna; tiny but well-formed gym - as long as you're alone there!

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard if you want more peace and quiet. If in the old house, go for the first-floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Middlethorpe Hall over Easter and this was our first visit to York. Middlethorpe is a good base to explore York and return to at the end of the day for peace and tranquility. The room we had was very nice in the Courtyard overlooking the beautiful gardens; traditional style and homely feeling.

We dined in the restaurant the first evening but felt it was overpriced for the quality of the meals; maybe we are a bit picky at we have been very fortunate to have dined at michelin star establishments and perhaps we tend to compare to these.

Good choice at breakfast although the toast was underdone on both mornings and cold, we did ask for more but there was no improvement - still underdone and cold. Also my cooked breakfast arrived with missing items. This was taken back and pancakes were obviously reheated as when they arrived back they were burnt around the edges. Why not just start again?

The spa area could do with a revamp; tired looking and not luxurious; again maybe I'm picky as my local gym and health club has such a lovely pool and gym that I did expect better.

Staff were helpful, welcoming and professional. A gift of a handmade chocolate easter egg was a nice touch.

All in all a lovely stay and I would return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just enjoyed a fantastic stay at this really lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly pleasant, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The food was really top class. We were offered pre-dinner canapes and one of our group was vegetarian and wheat intolerant. As soon as she mentioned this, they quickly brought her some of her own canapes made just for her. We stayed in one of their cottage suites just a few yards from the main hotel. It was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We also enjoyed some excellent treatments in their spa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
2.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
3.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.0 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,631 - ₹ 29,733
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing