We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
1,104
258
65
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
258
65
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house drawing room national trust downton abbey early morning tea country house stately home public rooms on arrival steam room relaxing break yorkshire breakfast road noise birthday treat wonderful hotel york racecourse beautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
1,084 - 1,089 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

What an amazing place for us to come to celebrate our friends Hen Do. We felt so well looked after and incredibly special.

The service was amazing – we couldn’t have asked to be better looked after by the team of staff
The food was fantastic – we really enjoyed our meal, and we were so grateful for you being so flexible and working the meal around us and our game.
The setting was perfect - from the beginning; being greeted at the door by the maître d to being served prosecco and nibbles in the Library, then being taken through to our own, private dining room (the yellow room), it all went to set the scene for our murder mystery.

Our bride-to-be had a wonderful weekend and spending Saturday evening at Middlethorpe Hall and Spa topped it off perfectly. So, thank you so much to the team who looked after us, for everything.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westyw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Let me start with the positives: this is a charming old house which has been expertly restored. Do go down to the basement, where the toilets are, to see the photos of how it looked before restoration.

The room we stayed in was immaculately clean and had many thoughtful touches.

The gardens, though small, are beautiful, and very well kept.

Now the negatives, which, I'm afraid are more numerous!

The main thing: road noise. The house sits very close to a number of busy roads, and you're never really able to get away from it. A morning ramble in the gardens and down by the pretty lake was more or less ruined by the very loud swishing past of cars in the distance. We stayed in the main house, but next time we would opt for a courtyard room - but there probably won't be a next time, to be honest.

Food: in an old house like this it would be much better to have good old-fashioned food, not the extremely nouvelle cuisine which is offered. We found the dishes over-worked, and of miniscule size. Nor is it cheap; in fact, let's be honest, it's vastly over-priced. I know that one is paying to keep a beautiful old house, and that the money has to come from somewhere, but we should have much preferred larger portions of more traditional dishes which surely would not cost any more to provide.

Coffee: a bitter variety is used, consistently made too weak. Cost saving?

The TV remote in the room didn't work. Batteries? I didn't complain because we're not big TV watchers anyway. But these things should be routinely checked.

The spa: nice little pool, bubbly bath, steam-room and sauna; tiny but well-formed gym - as long as you're alone there!

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard if you want more peace and quiet. If in the old house, go for the first-floor rooms, if you can afford them.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Readyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Middlethorpe Hall over Easter and this was our first visit to York. Middlethorpe is a good base to explore York and return to at the end of the day for peace and tranquility. The room we had was very nice in the Courtyard overlooking the beautiful gardens; traditional style and homely feeling.

We dined in the restaurant the first evening but felt it was overpriced for the quality of the meals; maybe we are a bit picky at we have been very fortunate to have dined at michelin star establishments and perhaps we tend to compare to these.

Good choice at breakfast although the toast was underdone on both mornings and cold, we did ask for more but there was no improvement - still underdone and cold. Also my cooked breakfast arrived with missing items. This was taken back and pancakes were obviously reheated as when they arrived back they were burnt around the edges. Why not just start again?

The spa area could do with a revamp; tired looking and not luxurious; again maybe I'm picky as my local gym and health club has such a lovely pool and gym that I did expect better.

Staff were helpful, welcoming and professional. A gift of a handmade chocolate easter egg was a nice touch.

All in all a lovely stay and I would return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleluxuries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just enjoyed a fantastic stay at this really lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly pleasant, helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The food was really top class. We were offered pre-dinner canapes and one of our group was vegetarian and wheat intolerant. As soon as she mentioned this, they quickly brought her some of her own canapes made just for her. We stayed in one of their cottage suites just a few yards from the main hotel. It was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We also enjoyed some excellent treatments in their spa. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband booked this as a surprise to celebrate my 50th Birthday - and what a surprise! I do not particularly like staying in hotels when holidaying in the UK and find a lot of up market places very "stuffy" and full of "stuffy people", including the staff! However, this place is fabulous! The staff were very attentive, without being in your face. We were given a free upgrade and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee is not provided in the rooms, but is delivered to your room on request, at no extra charge - beats making your own with UHT milk! Dinner was fabulous as was breakfast the next morning. Made use of the spa facilities (swimming pool freezing cold!) and the gardens were a treat to walk round. Not a cheap place but well worth every penny for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms over looking the gardens are beautiful, quiet and have great views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews