We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super find”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were only able to stay one night and found it initially because it was close to York Crematorium - where were were attending a funeral. However, our short stay there was bliss!
Not only because of the surroundings, but because of the wonderful attentive and friendly service from every single one of the staff. We had been upgraded to a better room and all our requests for type of bedding when originally booking were met. We were impressed by the attention to detail. Complementary morning tea with the Yorkshire post was so much nicer than the usual kettle in the room. Dinner in the restaurant was divine. The surroundings are relaxing and impressive. The spa pool was also really nice. It may seem expensive, but it is totally worth it. I'd much rather stay at this superb hotel than longer elsewhere. Thank you so much! Cathy A

Room Tip: The hotel chose ours for us, it did not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    224
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
211
750
56
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just enjoyed a Murder Mystery evening for the first time at Middlethorpe Hall. What an atmosphere and perfect location. The historic surroundings and period furnishings made the evening. The food, wine and above all the service from all the staff made this an unforgettable experience. The room surpassed our expectations. A great decision to stay the night, although we live in York, makes us proud to know visitors to the City of York are treated to such high levels of service and comfort.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms, park by suite door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Last weekend we visited the Middlethorpe for a Saturday relaxing stay.  The Hotel from the outside looks very impressive and did not disappoint when we entered.  We were looking for a traditional, old style feeling and that is exactly what we got.

On arrival we were upgraded to the main building, and upon entering the room I was pleasantly surprised that it was warm, as usually you have to wait for the room to heat up.  On a cold day these simple touches are appreciated.  The room was large and had antique furniture in.  The bathroom was also of a good size with under floor heating and his and hers sinks.

We had afternoon tea, which was very nice sitting in the drawing room looking out over the grounds.  This is one of the best afternoon teas I have had in a while.  The tea was a plenty and the selection of cakes was great, with over seven types for both of you to try. You can even have a box to take the cakes away if you can't finish all of them.

In the evening we had the six course taster menu, which again was superb. The different courses were full of taste, and the service was unpretentious and welcoming.
All staff were friendly and again the breakfast in the morning was good, especially the cooked breakfast.

I have given the hotel four stars because of two things, the bed was far to soft for me and the pillows, although this is obviously down to taste and the shower was not quite powerful enough.  It was also difficult to turn on if you didn't, want to get your hair wet as it was non moveable, so you have to do a balancing act with your foot!

I would  definitely recommend for a short visit to York, as only 5 mins down the road by car

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlett-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

An imposing hotel on the outside, we were not disappointed within. Beautifully furnished in period style in the public rooms and the bedrooms. Superb service all round - the staff were all professional and efficient without exception. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from a courtyard room to a suite, and it was beautiful. Very few hotels still have a turn down service, but this one does. We has Sunday dinner on arrival and it was excellent. Breakfast was also faultless. Although 2 miles outside of York, there is a bus stop yards from the hotel. A taxi cost around £6. The spa was restful and pleasant, with a nice pool and jacuzzi. Although it was cold when we stayed, we had a walk around the extensive gardens and lake and, in better weather, it would be superb. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Henry Thompson suite (free upgrade) and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Celebrated my husband 40th birthday here. We live close to York and as we knew the weather was going to be quite bad/snowing we didn't want to risk travelling too far from home.
I had heard in the past how nice this hotel was so I thought it would be a good opportunity to stay there and I am so glad we did.
From the initial check in (we were early but the room was ready) to the final check out we were treated so well. The staff are very courteous and their service to us seemed very natural.
We stayed in the main house and it felt like we were staying in a stately home - lovely.
Breakfast was good with heaps to choose from. Would definately go back and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 - the views (albeit snow everywhere) were fab. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,296 reviews
3.0 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
3.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 km away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,784 - ₹ 31,093
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing