We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for York City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for York City Break”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in July and generally found the hotel to be excellent. The doorstaff were very welcoming and having helped with bags they then looked after the valet parking. We found them to be very helpful and friendly throughout our stay as were the concierges.

Check in was dissapointing, one receptionist was busy with other guests and the other was far more interested in her computer than in actually acknowledging our existence. A smile would have been a good start, but the whole process was cold, we certainly were not made to feel welcome. Also be warned that they will take £100 per night off your credit card to cover anything you charge to the room (not good when staying 6 nights). I would expect this in a large hotel chain, but was surprised it happened here.

The room (422) was lovely overlooking the city walls (and away from the noisy building site). We had requested a quiet room when we booked and this was perfect. Comfy bed, plenty of space, large bath and a powerful shower (although exceptionally hot water even on the coldest setting). Good air conditioning too.

More free bottled water in the room would have been nice though.

Breakfast is good, but ridiculously expensive, we only ate it in the hotel on the day we were leaving as we needed to get going early. There are plenty of much cheaper, but still very good, options just over the bridge towards the Minster. Baileys Cafe being one.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on two nights and the food was excellent. The staff in both the restaurant and bar were very good and the prices were very reasonable for the quality of food.

The hotel location is perfect for exploring York, all the main tourist attractions are within walking distance, as are countless very good pubs, bars and restaurants.

Overall a very good hotel, but the reception experience let it down for us.

Room Tip: As high up as possible and away from the building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that in general you enjoyed your stay throughout and will pass on all of your feedback to our relevant Management Team. I will happily respond to some of your comments to give you some feedback.

Mini Bar – the complimentary bottled waters in all of our mini bars are replenished daily. It does state on the menu that should you request your mini bar to be serviced at any other time, to call a member of our team.

Breakfast offering: Our Breakfast offering compromises fesh, local seasonal produce and to a very high standard. We regularly receive praise from our guests on this service.

The pricing on our food and beverage is in line with both our local hotel competitors and relevant to the high standard and calibre of establishment that we are. I do however appreciate that we are located in a city centre so naturally there are alternative restaurants / cafes which are more cost effective for some of our guests.

Credit Card pre-auth: When a guest checks into the hotel, they are requested to present a Credit or Debit Card. If the accommodation is prepaid, only an amount for extras is required, however if the accommodation is not prepaid the total amount for the stay and then an amount for extras is secured.

This is a practice that you will find in most hotels across the world, that a form of payment is established upon check in. This is regardless of the size of company / chain. Given the recent changes in the law and banks procedures regarding credit card thefts/frauds as much as it does not completely fit in with hospitality service, it is a protection for both Hotels and Guests.
Shower – I will liaise with our property and maintenance team to look in to this. Thanks for letting us know.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,847
    628
    219
    101
    46
See reviews for
489
2,340
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 3 year anniversary at this hotel. It was our first 5* experience and was hugely enjoyable.

Highlights included a room 'turn down', where the maids came in and prepared the room for us to sleep in. I'd never seen anything like it before! Very classy. The Molton Brown goodies were also well received. The service was good, but perhaps a little lacking when it came to personality. Could be seen as a little pretentious. Aside from that, any requests we had were met almost immediately and the room was wonderful. Separate shower and toilet very useful and we were able to listen to the radio in the bathroom thanks to the ceiling speaker.

We also visiting the spa for a full body massage in the double treatment room. This was an amazing experience and the spa facilities were very impressive. I would definitely recommend a visit to the spa if possible.

Overall an enjoyable trip. Unsure if we would go back though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionamartinez1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent celebratory stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your en suite bedroom and treatments in our Award Winning Spa.

After giving us pretty much full marks in your review, it’s disappointing to read that you are unsure of whether you would return to us, however on behalf of myself and all the team here at The Grand, we sure hope that you do!!

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My boyfriend booked this to celebrate us finding out we were pregnant! It was a lovely hotel and made us feel very special. We used the valet service to park the car which was very handy.
Our hotel room had been upgraded to a suite and we were very pleased. It was a very clean, spacious modern room. A porter showed us to our room and showed us how the shower, television etc worked. We didn't use the spa facilities but there was robes and slippers if you required them. The hotel is situated close to the centre and close to the train station. The breakfast in the morning was contential but you could buy a cooked breakfast at an extra charge, which was quite expensive considering how much the room costs!
We were made to feel very welcome and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent celebratory stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

With regards to the breakfast charge, please let me explain:
We offer 3 types of accommodation packages 1) room only, 2) Room and Continental breakfast and 3) Room and Full English Breakfast. This is to give all of our guests a choice of which they would prefer which we feel is a sensible offering which caters to the needs of a variety of guests with different requirements. Should a guest book on a room and continental rate and then choose to upgrade to a full English hot offering on the day, then naturally a supplement charge is applied for this.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we wish you all the best throughout your pregnancy and look forward to welcoming the 3 of you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon, and even though we arrived very late (coming straight from our wedding!) were greeted by a lovely member of staff and a very polite and efficient porter. The room was beautiful, the bathroom spotless, and the breakfast that we had delivered to our room in the morning delicious. It was everything we had hoped a special 5* hotel would be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and breakfast within.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Food & Beverage Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was our first visit to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa, and certainly won't be the last.
All the staff were very polite and helpful.
Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean, light and airy, nice decor and tastefully furnished. I liked the little finishing touches in our bathroom slippers, gowns, and Molton Brown products.
The hotel is situated in a great location with only few minutes walk in to the city centre.
Look forward to another visit soon, as one night wasn't enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy123085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your bedroom and the luxuries within.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,201 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,496 - ₹ 27,754
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing