We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really Good Size Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Good Size Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

A beautiful room, spacious and airy with high ceilings. This place still keeps the character of the original building. The concierge was top class. Food service (especially room service) needs a bit of tweaking - but overall a really nice experience. The Whisky Room is beautifully decorated with comfortable chairs for an aperitif.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiachra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted they enjoyed their stay throughout and thought highly of the Concierge Service. Peter Davis, a member of the prestigious Golden Keys and his dedicated team are always on hand for our guests’ every request from booking theatre tickets, restaurant reservations and much much more.

As the hotel’s Food & Beverage Manager, I would be interested to hear some further detailed feedback as to why you think our Food service, in particular Room Service needs a bit of “tweaking”. Feedback we receive through many a channel is usually very good so I was disappointed to read your comment. All of our standards comply with 5 star criteria. You can contact me direct at graeme.clark@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,638
    579
    195
    92
    40
See reviews for
447
2,155
72
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Cedar Court Grand for making the one night overnight stay a very memorable one for our daughters 21st birthday treat. From the initial greeting, to the free upgrade (from an executive room to a junior suite) and the free glass of fizz made it all very special for her and her boyfriend. They tell us that all of the hotel staff were friendly and attentive, that the evening meal was 1st class (one of the best they have ever had!) and the cocktails were wonderful. Our request for champagne & chocs in the room was also dealt with efficiently. A true ***** hotel. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penk_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your daughters’ recent celebratory stay with us.

I’m delighted they enjoyed their stay throughout and thought highly of the service in which they received and their meal in our award winning restaurant.
Thank you also for giving special mention to our friendly and dedicated team who are undoubtedly the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked on their site and bought a mid week double room without breakfast for £99. The hotel itself is very clean, has friendly staff and everything you could ever need. We were also upgraded for free as there were better rooms available. My boss stayed in the same style room as me 4 days earlier and payed £289! I got lucky but it was worth a lot more which I would happily pay upon returning

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout. Thank you also for giving special mention to our friendly and dedicated team who are undoubtedly the hotel’s best asset.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May 2012, the hotel is in a convenient location close to the train station and a short walk to all the shops and restraunts in the city centre. From the greeting we received as we walked up to the hotel to when we checked out the service was first class. The hotel staff are very attentive, friendly and go out of their way to help you. We stayed in an exec room and it was very comfortable, a good size with all the usual amenities and a great large bathroom well stocked with Molton Brown toiletries and a large raindrop shower.
We were on bed and continental breakfast rate and we had no complaints with the food. We sampled the cocktails in the bar a couple of times and were impressed with the range and quality, apart from that we didn't have any food so can't comment on this.
The hotel itself is light, airy, and well decorated with huge comfy chairs and sofas in the various lounges.
We really couldnt fault this hotel and would want to stay here again next time we visit York, next time we will try and stay for longer so we get to enjoy the spa too!! I would recommend the hotel to everyone who wants to treat themselves.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor and had no problems with this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank island-h0pper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout , in particular your bedroom, breakfast and cocktails in the bar.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future and hopefully like you said, you will be able to stay for longer to explore the rest of the hotels facilities including our award winning Spa and Restaurant

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We decided to push the boat out a bit and to stay at a really good hotel when my husband and I visited York for a few days last week. We were not disappointed; it was expensive but worth the money. The Cedar Court Grand is in a handsome building just outside the city walls and ideally located for exploring the centre of York as well as the Railway Museum. Parking in York is a nightmare and so finding a hotel that offered a car park was important. Our car was valet parked for us in a secure area of a nearby NCP car park. This was expensive - £20 per day - which was about £3 per day more than if we had parked it ourselves in the same car park but in an insecure area. We felt that the extra money was worth it for peace of mind. From the moment that we arrived, the standard of service could not have been bettered. The concierge staff were all a delight, immaculate in their uniforms, welcoming without being fawning and full of useful information. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They remembered who we were and greeted us warmly every time we returned to the hotel. The bar staff were equally conscientious and obliging. All the public areas of the hotel were beautifully furnished and maintained. We booked one of their least expenisive rooms and it was capacious, extemely well furnished and immaculate. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and the separate loo was big enough to hold a small party in (if you were so inclined!). A very small complaint is that both bathrooms were a bit of a triumph of design over practicality. The taps were elegant but stiff to operate and, more seriously, getting in and out of the bath when using the overhead shower was a bit treacherous (I have a large bruise to prove it). If you are slightly less than agile, I would recommend that you check with the hotel to ensure that this will not be a problem. All the extra bits and pieces that you expect in a good hotel - toiletries, hot drinks and nibbles were of the highest quality. We inspected the underground gym and spa and the gym equipment was very good and the swimming pool tempting although we decided that days walking round York would provide us with all the exercise that we needed. It is difficult to fault this hotel but if I could change one thing about it I would make the outside area, where we sat in the evening to have a drink, much less bleak. They have had a go with tubs of shrubs round the edge but it needs much more imaginative planting, with perhaps plenty of trees in tubs scattered in the middle of the area to make it more attractive. This is a small quibble, though. This is a seriously professional, classy hotel of extemely high quality. If you can afford it, I don't think that it will disappoint you.

Room Tip: There is some building work going in across the road at the front of the hotel. This disturbed us sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and it’s pleasing to read that you took the opportunity to explore several of the hotel’s facilities.

Our outside Terrace area is from time to time used for large events/ banquets whereby a large marquee covering the entire area is erected. For this reason, the terrace has been furnished accordingly.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,060 - ₹ 23,529
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing