We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 261
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 252
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Marmadukes Town House Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$ 280
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 196
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 213
US$ 188
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
95
33
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
33
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very helpful on the telephone, and very helpful in person - the type of service you'd like to get everywhere. Good standard of cleanliness you'd expect. Just a stroll from the city centre (although I couldn't try the riverside walk as York was rather flooded this weekend!). Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solstices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Booked last minute for two nights get-away trip to York. Was recommended by a friend who's family had stayed at Hillcrest.
The welcome was great, situated in a great spot, stones throw from the park and river walk to town or short walk to town along the road. No need to catch bus or take car into town.
Nice breakfast and clean and tidy room. Safe parking at back of the house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nainllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed in York last week for 2 nights = we stayed at the lovely Hillcrest and could not have been happier with the location = backing onto Rowntree Park and a superb riverside walk - we were blessed with gorgeous weather as well!!

The hotel is immaculate and spotlessly clean - a warm friendly welcome and a breakfast to keep you going till teatime !!

Would definitley stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed overnight in a tiny double room, but for one night it was fine. Very warm welcome from Lena, she is bright and bubbly and very friendly. The one great blessing is the parking and short walk to the city. York is a nightmare to drive or park in, my advice ....Don't do it! So to lock up the car and walk along the river to browse York was delightful. Breakfast was great, even Porridge on offer, a treat. Recommended for a city based stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a lovely 4 nights staying in one of the family rooms. The party comprised of me and my 3 daughters (aged 15, 13 and 10). Right from the beginning, when we booked our stay over the phone, we were made to feel welcome. On arrivial we were greeted warmly and shown to the room - a large, ground floor room with one double and two singles plus en suite and still plenty of room to accomodate all the bags of clothes shopping that we managed to accrue during our stay!
An easy 10 minute walk into York via the road or a more relaxing 25 minute walk via the river. Having parking on site was an added bonus. We had a lovely stay and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichMoch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews