We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carine and Diane”
Review of Moutreys

Moutreys
Ranked #31 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
linc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Carine and Diane”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

What a treasure of a place. Lovely location in the old area of Whitby. Food truly wonderful, presentation, flavour and service. Would certainly recommend and visit again

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    168
    58
    38
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic ;)”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Fillet Steak Pizza was delicious and my partner said the meatballs was the best he'd ever tasted. Well worth a visit

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Vegetarians (and others too!)”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We've been visiting Whitby for 25 years now, and when we first came, the choices for veggies were very sparse; most restaurants were of the fresh fish & steak variety. Years later and most places have at least one veggie dish, but Moutreys always makes a special effort.

The garlic mushrooms baked in the real wood oven are mouth-wateringly delicious – like no others I've had anywhere else; we ALWAYS have these to start. My husband loves spicy food, so the kitchen staff are more than happy to make his pizza to order. I have the Brie de Meux from the Specials Board – oven-baked brie with chilli jam, bread & side salad – sublime to say the least.

Great atmosphere, great food, and very reasonable prices make this a must-visit restaurant ... and don't forget the wonderful ice-cream selection, which includes my hubby's favourite – red chilli!

Booking is always a good idea, but if you get there early, they might just squeeze you in!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrasslass41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Had the Gambero pizza and it was better than most pizzas I have eaten in Italy.
There most have been at least 8 gigantic tiger prawns full of flavour,marvellous.
A tip for any couples who are thinking of booking this restaurant,ask for a table towards the rear of the dining area.
You enter this place directly from the street and because the big oven in the middle of the restaurant makes the place hot,they keep the outside door open and as the first 3 tables are tables for 2 you could find yourself sitting as I did in a draft all night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, worth the wait!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, but it did seem to take a long time for the food to arrive. Possibly because we didn't have starters. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere but very hot with the big pizza oven - would be lovely in the winter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moutreys also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Moutreys? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing