We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Extra Mile”

The Moon and Sixpence
Ranked #22 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Extra Mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stumbled across this on our first visit to Whitby. With our two tired children (3 & 6) in tow, I wasn't really looking for a bar to eat in but my husband popped in first and was assured by the staff they were happy to accomodate us. So with a little trepidation I sat down but was delighted by the whole experience. Laid back and wonderful staff who couldn't be more helpful. Happy to rustle up a small sausage and chips for my fussy 3 year old, (while my 6 year old enjoyed sampling everything on offer including my husband's delicious moules) My husband and I had the tapas menu which was tasty and good value. Lovely views, great ambience, and the best staff who were more than happy to go the extra mile. Will definitely come back and would also probably book one of their rooms to stay in as they looked beautiful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    372
    113
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I ate ther in the evening on my own. The waitress warned me that service might be a little slow but absolutely no problem.

I had the three course meal including fish pie as main course - £12.95 was really good value.

Food was really good and I would certainly go again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Amazing, great food, great price, great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Me and my misses have eaten her on numerous occasions, and every time it just keeps getting better. The staff were outstanding, we were served by a girl with red hair. We sat in the front bar and had oysters to start, unbelievable quality! The main course was a hake fillet with chorizo, crayfish, pea & spring onion risotto! Incredible for only £9.90!!!!! The cheesecake for desert was fab! Well done to the chef! Was a bit confused when the drinks weren't that expensive due to some previous reviews I have read :s but never the less credit where credits due.
Overall great food great price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDPyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get your money out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Bit expensive for drink, 2 large glasses of wine cost £11 so did not stay long

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thistle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Enjoyable birthday meal, cozy, relaxing wish it has the views in restaurant you get in bar downstairs, food was lovely, alcohol was a bit overpriced but thats usual in restaurants

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moon and Sixpence also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Moon and Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing