We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Presby House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yorkshire...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing views.”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

our stay at presby house was the first time we have stayed at a different location in whitby for 16 years so we were a little sceptical,but the house was amazing the bedrooms were comfortable,the kitchen was spacey and the little courtyard was lovely.the icing on the cake was the upstairs living room.wow the view is everthing about whitby,the harbour ,the abbey ,the town.fantastic.will be coming back again if booking allows.thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location but needs some tweaks”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The house is in a great location with fabulous views from the top floor sitting room. Perhaps we visited at the start of the season when they hadn't got things running properly but there were a few things which spoilt the stay and would deter us from making a future visit. Mainly the mattresses on the twin beds which need replacing. They are effectively metal springs with very little support - we ended up sleeping on the attic sofas after the first night.
The shower was ineffectual and unusable. To be fair the manager arranged for a plumber to come out to look at this and the noisy malfunctioning maserator in the ensuite toilet and he thought it was to do with some street repairs.
Some basic items that you might expect in a self catering house - scoring highly on review sites - were absent: waste bins in rooms, egg cups, different sized glasses. The towel I had was unclean but to be fair the manager arranged a replacement on the final night. We were only there 3 nights do put up with the discomfort but it would've been problematic had we stayed longer. The location is perfect and the house is beautiful but if you need to sleep or shower during your stay I'd recommend finding another house in the locality with more comfortable beds. The owners aren't personally involved/ responsive so I wouldnt feel confident or assured that stuff gets replaced/done by the letting agency.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house which fits large groups”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for a week last Easter. The house is superbly decorated and great facilities, especially considering how many in our party.It is so handy for getting tthe sea front and shops compared to a lot of the holiday lets in the area. The icing on the cake however is the views of the Abbey from the upstairs living room. We will definitely be booking up again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samjane69
2 reviews
“Presby House - excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the best place ever, last minute booking turned out to be the best place we have ever stayed in. Took my husband, daughter, son and his girlfriend all under 18, they loved it was really pleased with everything about Presby House. Told work friends about my last minute booking, they asked to let them know what it was like. I will be telling them nothing but very good reviews and recommending that they book it fir themselves. The views were amazing and never get bored of looking out the top living room window. Lay out was extremely good. We are looking when we can book Presby House again. Thanks for a great home from home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigalid
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Quirky Central rent in Whitby”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic character central holiday home in Whitby spread over 3 floors. We (family of 5 with kids between 5-10) stayed in mid July for 5 days. Was clean and well equipped. Top floor has a big lounge with sofa beds with fantastic views over the harbour from window. Middle floor has main bedroom (en suite), bunk bed room (fairly neat) and bathroom with good shower over bath.The bottom has a bid twin bedroom at front, dining room leading into an extension kitchen with a small sunlounge at end which opens onto a small patio (not all properties have so may be a boon for you). A short walk downhill via adjacent lanes right to the centre of Whitby harbour. North cliff just 50 yards up road which you can then easily walk down to beach. A poundland is just down road which will cover most provisions but some Quirky food shops nearby including excellent baker on Skinner street.

No parking at property (pretty rare in central Whitby) hop up onto left pavement outside when unloading as cars will pass you easier in one way street. We were provided with more than enough visitor parking permits. Spacees just up road in north cliff area but make sure you get a permit zone not disc. Be aware bunk bed room quite neat. Plumming bit Quirky as much if old and new (got rumblings at points with hot water) but minor issue. No Wi-Fi when we stayed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, character house
Liked least: If forced to say lack of Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing