We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House
Ranked #14 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from a relaxing weekend in Whitby helped by the wonderful hospitality of Manetta and Peter. We stayed in the Suite which was very comfortable and well worth the price. Nothing was too much trouble and the hearty breakfast was a perfect start to the day. Living in a city we were looking for somewhere which would help us to relax and recharge the batteries. Sandpiper House certainly helped in every way. Won't hesitate to book here again in the future.

Thanks again for the directions to York's antique shops!

Room Tip: Choose the Suite for a little bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    55
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
432
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Sandpiper Guest House. Peter & Manetta were marvellous and looked after us really well. Everything about the place was perfect - a real home from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed a weekend at the Sandpiper and in no way were we disappointed. We had The Suite and it was well worth that little bit extra.The room itself was lovely and the bathroom is everything you could want. The breakfast was spot on, and Peter and Manetta are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble.We were made very welcome and anytime we go back to Whitby we will not hesitate to stay here again, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone

Room Tip: The Suite is lovely and with it you get free parking which in Whitby is a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first Guest House/Hotel we stayed in, on our tour of Yorkshire. So the remaining places we stayed at had a lot to live up to, against the high standard of Sandpiper House.

Ideal location for walking to all the sights.

Suggest you book restaurants recommended by Pete and Manetta well in advance if you don't wish to be disappointed.

Although the room was small, it was tastefully decorated, you had everything you needed and extras. Very nice soap, shampoo, shower gel and body/hand lotion, biscuits, plenty of hot drink sachets and sweets.

There was a gap in the window which did cause a draft if you were sitting on the sofa watching TV, but with the curtains closed it was fine.

There is free Wi Fi.

Pete and Manetta went out of their way to ensure we had a nice stay even though the whole of Whitby had a power cut and that we had a cooked breakfast, with real tea (tea leaves in a pot), plus fresh coffee. So well done to them.

Certainly plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubanbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were made so welcome at the Sandpiper House. The hotel and room were clean, well maintained and a pleasure to stay in. The Suite has a wonderful new bath/walk in shower which was immaculately clean. The breakfast was just delightful and Pete and his wife could not have been more helpful. Thank you for a really enjoyable and relaxing stay. We will definitely come back for more!

Room Tip: Book in and see, you will not be disappointed. Even a place to park the car if you booked The Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.8 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,938 reviews
0.4 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.1 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.1 km away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 51 in Whitby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House

Property: Sandpiper House
Address: 4 Belle Vue Terrace, Whitby YO21 3EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,383 - ₹ 8,455
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Whitby, with reserved/free parking.Sandpiper offers a bolt hole which offers a home from home with luxury touches.We have invested alot of time money and energy ensuring we offer the best accomodation we can provide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Whitby
Sandpiper House Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing