We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good accomodation & great views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sandbeck
Ranked #36 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good accomodation & great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Just returned from a really enjoyable 2 night stay at the Sandbeck, good value - excellent choice of breakfasts, great sea-view from the room and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was that I couldn't work out the puzzle in the bar :) . Thanks for a great break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    63
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
204
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here in late September. We were only intending to stay one night in Whitby but really loved this quaint little town. We had two different rooms at the Sandbeck and both were excellent. Rooms were comfortable and clean, hosts were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great especially the chance to try something different each day. Our second room was a suite overlooking the ocean and was especially nice. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marden85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Friendly hosts and excellent service. Kept my chilled sparkling water in the fridge, and put it available in the room in an icebucket in the evening when the bar closed. That's service!
Had an excellent full english breakfast and requested fried bread - and got it!
Wonderfull view.

Might have to come again.

P.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

All expense was spared in the creation of this shoe box of a single room (room 15). The uncomfortable bed was rammed up against the stud wall of the ensuite. Another stud wall divided this single and the neighbouring double through which conversation and everything else could be heard. The welcome tray contained only one type of tea bag and contained just one miserable biscuit, but these were left untouched as the kettle did not work. The en suite had dodgy plumbing, the toilet seat was loose, the toilet roll holder was broken. The heater in the room was falling off the wall. There was a window, but it opened only a fraction - to stop any desperate occupants from throwing themselves out, I suppose. I had planned to stay two nights, but couldn't bear it, so left early after two desperately needed cups of tea and two pieces of (cold) toast. Never again Sandbeck. Never again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Katrinoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbecker, Owner at The Sandbeck, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
This is the normal kangaroo court Trip Advisor drivel that as a hotel proprietor I have to put up with. Whilst you are at the hotel we are given no opportunity to resolve any of your so called issues. You do not make any comments about the room on arrival so we may if available offer you alternative room with a different layout that may better suit your requirements. You come down to breakfast the next morning complaining of a dodgy meal in Whitby the night before and ask only for tea and toast. The hot toast comes straight from the automated toaster to your table but it now turns into a poor breakfast of tea and cold toast, no mention of the vast choice you did not want. You depart and within the confines of your own home you are allowed apparently legitimately to say virtually whatever you wish against a business working hard to build a quality establishment and post your drivel on trip advisor. I have no desire to respond to your review but have no choice but to waste my time and do so.
“All expense was spared in the creation of this shoe box of a single room. The uncomfortable bed was rammed up against the stud wall of the ensuite”. In reply it is not as small as you make out as many people happily stay in that room for upto a week with no complaints or problems and I am not sure how you ram a bed up against a stud wall, there are no visible marks but you make it sound so dramatic. As with most of our mattresses they are expensive hotel quality heavy duty type and we have had no previous complaints. The welcome tray contains tea, coffee, hot chocolate and both plain and chocolate biscuits (well liked as stated by previous reviews). There is a free selection of 12 Rington’s Teas available in the honesty bar and in the dining room; all you had to do was ask we would have delivered. In future try plugging the lead firmly into the back of the kettle. Not sure what the dodgy plumbing is that you state but the toilet seat was firmly anchored, however the lid did move slightly, now fixed and in 2 minutes I tightened the loose (hanging at a slight angle) but not broken toilet roll holder, as we always say to guests if you do not tell us we cannot fix it. Furthermore we would never let an electric heater get loose on a wall never mind fall off, it had in fact been installed by the previous owners on a bracket angled between the skirting board and the wall and you could have jumped on top of it and it would not have moved. By sheer coincidence this week as part of our ongoing improvements brand new heaters are being installed in many of the guest bedrooms and room 15 is one of them. The window does indeed open wide but has a child safety lock fitted and this quite simply was your problem but as you state it stops desperate occupants throwing themselves out, again you make it sound so dramatic. Never again Sandbeck. Never again. At last a true statement is made and for you that is absolutely correct, never again will you stay at the Sandbeck.
We have spent a considerable amount of money on renovations and improvements and will continue to do so over the winter. Also we pride ourselves on good service, food and cleanliness which are greatly appreciated by guests and as such buy quality food and employ a lot of staff. Of course we are happy to listen to genuine guest comments and will try our utmost to resolve the issues immediately or long term take them on board during the refurbishments. Guests constantly use the rooms and we accept things do break or become loose so we rely on the guests to tell us so that we can at least have the opportunity to fix it, particularly before the next guest arrives. We truly want you to have an enjoyable stay at the Sandbeck and go out of our way in setting the standards that make it so, proof is the vast number of returning guests and recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at the Sandbeck. Great location on West Cliff with free roadside parking if you arrive at the right time. Very warm friendly welcome. Well-appointed spacious and comfortable room with wonderful views out to sea. Good range of choice for breakfasts, which were well-cooked and appetising.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.7 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#14 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 km away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandbeck? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandbeck

Property: The Sandbeck
Address: 1 Crescent Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,740 - ₹ 7,973
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Sandbeck (Private Guest House) Hotel Whitby
The Sandbeck Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing