We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
teesside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

had a pleasant stay in the george hotel, Rooms had recently been refurbished to a high standard
Staff were really good and helpful,only gripe would be breakfast, the restaurant was very basic and the food could have been better
Overall enjoyed the hotel which is in an ideal location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gram69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    66
    50
    36
    46
See reviews for
38
92
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here cos another person in our party had booked it - it certainly wouldn't have been my choice. It looks quite nice from the outside but it is definitely just a pub with rooms above. It had been refurbished and it could have been nice but the room we were in had cleaning (or lack of) issues. The wall where the tv was there were dirty fingermarks which I am sure would have come off if the cleaner had tried, also on the windowsill were ring marks from cups that had been on it from previous patrons. The bathroom had been newly tiled but what I couldn't understand is why on earth leave an old cracked shower tray in!!. The "complimentry" breakfast was in the disco downstairs and it was very basic, it was like eating in a dungeon!!. Not a hotel for anyone wanting stay anywhere decent. Also there was a blackboard outside advertising the drink prices but in small writing at the bottom it stated " excluding bank holidays" and as it was a bank holiday why put it outside in the first place? I wasn't impressed at all and would not stay there again. I could have paid £70 a night and got a lot better at No 7 Guest House which is where I will go in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MausieDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments which we have taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton On tees
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went into this Hotel for a couple of drinks, atmosphere good, and the bar staff excellent. Would recommend it to anyone. Well worth a vist

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHowells_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, even mentioning as we booked, that the room we selected (low floor with en-suite) was over the bar area and might be subject to some noise. we paid £60 for one night mid week. The room was mostly clean but there were a few areas that hadn't seen a duster for a few weeks and it really showed up because of the sunshine. The WC smelled slightly of stale wee and we spotted the reason, again just a tiny bit of cleaning overlooked. The bedding was very clean if a bit past its best. The hotel is central to the town, which is why we selected it, as my partner has walking difficulties. After a night out we went into the bar and I had intended to have a drink before we retired for the evening, I stepped up to the bar and got a strong whiff of stale beer which put me off. Having said all the above were only minor things and I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thankyou for your comments which we have taken on board to rectify, we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived with our 7 yr old in March 2012, stayed in room 8 which is one double and 2 singles with en suite. Paid £90 for one night.
From the outside the hotel looks lovely and in an ideally situated, close to parking and town center. We entered via the pub enterance and had to ask a member of the bar staff to book us in, they took us through the bar to the rear where there was a hotel reception, but it is the bar staff who manned it, seemingly no permanent receptionist. This was o.k for us as we arrived mid morning, but I can imagine that it would be awkward later on when the bar was busy. The bar itself was pleasant enough and seemed popular, although it gave the impression it wasn't very child friendly esp at night.
The staff were young, but pleasant enough. They were in uniform ie.shirt and tie, but all looked scruffy with their shirts untooked.
We were took up to our room. It was warm enough, but very basic. Had good tea / coffee making facilities and beds seemed clean. The carpet had stains on it and the room smelt fusty. The bathroom was clean and nicely decorated, although it did smell of drains ! To be honest I did expect more for the money we paid, it seemed to lack the smaller touches like shower gel or enough tiolet paper even.
We were aware of the possibility of noise from the bar downstairs, but can honestly say that we didn't hear a thing, and we did stay a saturday night.
I think this hotel would be best suited to accomodate hen/stag nights etc.. rather than famalies. And it needs to bring down the price !! It's not a hotel , it's a pub which has rooms above and is ran as such. I would at least expect to get breakfast for £90 hotel room ! Your choice is toast or cereal, but be warned the plates were dirty !! and the toaster takes forever !! won't be staying again. For best value for money, £60 as a couple we stayed at the woodside up the road and were very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thankyou for your comments which we have taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
3.0 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
0.4 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 38 Baxtergate, Whitby YO21 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,042 - ₹ 11,621
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The George Hotel in Whitby, we offer the ideal base from which to enjoy your stay in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. Situated right in the heart of the town, everything you may want is within easy walking distance - from the marina and beaches, to museums and shops, and even the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.Come and sample our welcoming atmosphere, with friendly staff & comfortable surroundings. We have a lively hotel bar with several nights of entertainment, along with another bar which can be hired for private functions.You won’t miss out on any sporting moments as we have Sky Sports HD & BT Sports shown on large screens. We also offer a good range of wines & spirits at affordable prices & hand pull ale. Lavazza coffee is now available along with other hot beverages. Free Wi-fi is also available throughout the bar area and most hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Whitby
The George Hotel Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing