We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great owner very friendly”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great owner very friendly”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

got late booking for this hotel, stayed here 3 weeks previous,returnd for first goth w/end,although not a goth and found it fab we were told by the owner when booking live music would be on late, did not find this a problem, may have been if we had children with us, staff great,breakfast good value will deffo stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 565carling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    420
    203
    56
    44
See reviews for
88
719
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After driving around for 10 mins trying to park ,we finally found a place not too far away for £5.00 for 24hrs , next to the sports centre.
The check in staff were friendly and efficient.
Our room was basic but clean ,and you could see a bit of the harbour .
We stayed in the hotel at night as there was live entertainment with 3 local bands playing .
We also had a meal which was really nice.
All was going well with no complaints whatsoever untill the next morning .........
There was only one waitress on duty and really run of her feet,people were complaining that they had been waiting 45min after ordering ,we had a 35 min wait .
The tables around us had not been cleared and remained cluttered and messy for the hour we were sat there .
The breakfast was not nice at all ,we had expected much better as the meal the night before had been so nice .
We enjoyed our stay and could,nt fault the location ,and the staff who did work really hard .
The bar staff in the bar at night were really efficient and quick .
Anyway apart from the breakfast we enjoyed our stay here .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Have stayed here on several occasions for one night and up to 4 nights! The staff are so helpful and do many roles and long hours to make your stay a good one. Breakfast is great and meals in the Restraunt brilliant! Parking is easy to find within short walking distance depending on length of stay. Rooms are cosy and if I had gone on some of the poor reviews on here I wouldn't go but I am 100% happy with the service I've had on my stays

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlietobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

When travelling to a new resort I always start my search by entering wheelchair user. For the dates we wanted there were only 2 in Whitby and we chose the Resolution. No, there is no parking right on the doorstep but if you have looked at the site it does tell you this. The staff were wonderful making sure l was ok, even laying a special table for us because there were a few steps to the breakfast room that l was unable to use.The breakfasts were fantastic with several alternatives to the full english.....and John ( night porter ) l dont know what they pay you but it should be doubled. Thank you for the way you looked after us.... There is a large bar in the hotel and entertainment several times a week. For insomniac residents the bar serves 24 hours a day... . However, there were some things that could be improved on.. Although there is a wheelchair ramp entrance at the side of the main door not much more consideration has been given to people with limited mobiliity. There is a disabled toilet in reception, sounds good til you open the door. A large table with a baby changing mat fill the room making it impossible to use the toilet. This meant taking the lift to the 3rd floor several times to our room. The bathroom was not equiped for disabled people either having no grab rails anywhere.l had to go 5 days without a shower or washing my hair which was not very pleasant. lt would take very little to convert 2 bathrooms into wet rooms, and given the lack of disabled accommodation in the town would be another string to their bow... We will go back at any time, Thanks everyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exiledscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Not bad for the discounted rate I picked up on laterooms, £70 for twin room on a Saturday night, close to the harbour and shop, restaurants etc.
Dont expect the Ritz, but room was adequate and not too small (room 305).
Had trouble with the shower but was instantly rectified, just make sure you FULLY turn the shower on haha.
Breakfast was great, read some bad reviews on here about that, maybe its hit and miss, hit when we were there, plentiful and tasty. Great selection of fruits etc. Full english was ok, had better, had worse.
Bar area fine, you wont be stuck to find a seat in there.
All in all, would stay there again at the weekend at the price I paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chorleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.2 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,880 - ₹ 11,022
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing