We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“W O W !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“W O W !”
Reviewed 10 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The fact is ,we LOVE Whitby. This cottage is absolutely wonderful. Inside it's fantastic, the ever-changing view is always interesting and the location is top-notch. We had 3 nights,my wife and I and another couple,to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. None of us wanted to leave but unfortunately we had to. Lots of nearby bars and restaurants satisfied our needs,so we didn't use the cooking facilities,but they looked very good. The weather was sunny throughout our stay so we managed to do some enjoyable walks whilst there. All in all...….FABULOUS ! ! !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
I am very happy that you enjoyed the views from the cottage across the harbour and the cottages' proximity to all the restaurants, bars and cafes in the Old Town. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central location and great views”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Nice compact 2 storey flat. Really good views from the living room and all 3 bedrooms. Old property so the usual sloping floors and a very quirky staircase which would not suit someone with mobility issues. Very clean and well looked after feel and centrally located on the old side of Whitby. Couple of drawbacks which lost 5th point rating. Some noise from revellers at the bars either side of the property which did disturb us one night and no curtains for the main windows in the upstairs bedrooms, having looked forward to a holiday lie in, we were disappointed to be waking up at dawn!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. The Rowing Club does ask their guests to be considerate of neighbours when they leave the premises and I will raise this with the manager. The upstairs dorma windows were recently replaced and so I will look into adding front blinds to these as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic228...
1 review
“wonderful whitby cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Great cosy modern cottage in an ideal position, contains everything you may need for a comfortable stay. The views of the river were memorable as we watched local boat races being held right under our window during our stay, great entertainment. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward the welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisbell...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Amazing view from the cottage and close to really good pubs and restaurants.
Easy walking distance to public transport which we made use of. This was our 2nd visit and we certainly intend to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage and it’s views and central location. I look forward to welcoming you back on you next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scubapink...
yorkshire
1 review
“Fantastic cottage we’ve stayed here twice now!!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Amazon location close to the beach, shops and pubs. We would stay here every time if we could. We would highly recommend this cottage to everyone it very clean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Thank you your review. I’m glad you enjoyed the cottage location and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing