We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
37
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomthe blue roomrichard janebeautiful georgian housebay windowone nightbreakfast was deliciousliving roomlovely placemoorsgueststvlurcheraccommodationdog
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed last weekend in this amazing house. Beautiful decoration of a beautiful home to Richard and his wife Jane. Your hospitality was second to none Richard and we loved Jane's fresh bread in the mornings.
Great location a short distance to the centre of Whitby.
Wonderful walk to stathes along the Cleveland way made extra special by taking the hostes adorable lurcher with us . Thank you for your company Hettie .
Will definitely be back to this place.
Ate at the Thai restaurant near the station which was really nice but avoid Moutres it was terrible!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnionPlaceWhitby, Owner at Union Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Wow, sorry about Moutreys, so glad that Union Place more than made up for your poor meal. We always try to go the extra mile to make our guests comfortable, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Our second visit to union place this time we took our friends. This is the best b&b to stay in Whitby- beautiful Georgian House , Richard is the perfect host and makes your stay feel special and does the best breakfast with fresh eggs from his own chickens. Nothing is too much trouble , you have your own living room and use of tv and WiFi, we didn’t mind sharing the bathroom it is so big and beautiful and there is a separate wc on the landing. We will be back for sure. Lots of beautiful pieces of art adorn this beautiful house and I can’t wait to go back and see where the penguin is lol! Hetty the dog is another added feature! Thank you for a special birthday stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ruby186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnionPlaceWhitby, Owner at Union Place, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

How lovely to be able to make people so happy, we are a small b&b and consequently have both the time and the inclination to get to know our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Wow this grade 2 listed building is amazing and our host Richard and his wife have made it truly beautiful inside and out.
We stayed in the blue room overlooking the fabulous garden.
You have a large lounge to use if you wish to relax and watch tv and full use of the garden.
Breakfast was superb with eggs from Richards own Chickens.
Myself and my husband would highly recommend visiting and we will certainly be going back soon.
Thank you for your hospitality Richard.
Paula and Tony Robinson.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent location. Beautiful room and bathroom. There’s only two bedrooms which offers a very personalized service. Richard provided a very relaxing stay and recommend an lovely place for dinner. Breakfast was delicious. If I had any constructive suggestions - it’s a shame the kettle is on the bedroom floor. A room of that caliber would benefit from a small table in the corner for the tea/coffee facilities. A biscuit would have been nice too :-)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MereLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnionPlaceWhitby, Owner at Union Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

It is always helpful to receive constructive hints and comments and we have taken on board what this guest had picked up on and will look to rectify as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I stayed here with my fiancé recently for one night, wish I could have stayed longer. Beautifully decorated, we especially enjoyed viewing Richard Pottas Art work and the stylish modern décor, delightful and quirky. Richard and Jane made us feel very at home and attention to detail was everywhere. Everything at the Union Place was perfect making our short break to wonderful Whitby, one to remember. Thank you Richard & Jane. We will be back soon.
Tim & Tina

Room Tip: Relaxng, luxury
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MISS TINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews