We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midweek stay”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived Monday afternoon and were greeted with a cheerful welcome, shown to our room and then invited for a complimentary pot of tea whenever we were ready. The hotel looked as impressive from the outside as it was inside, our room was roomy and bright with two windows overlooking the putting green and the sea in the distance. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. Even the morning we woke to no power, through no fault of the hotel as most of Yorkshire and Northumberland had been hit, we were greeted by warming fires and cheery staff trying to serve breakfast to the best of their ability under the cicumstances. We stayed until the Friday morning and found it an ideal location for a relaxing break or a good base for seeing the sights of the surrounding Yorkshire attractions. All in all I would reccomend this hotel and would definitely book again if in that area.

Room Tip: For the extra money its well worth the deluxe room option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 781 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We took our 18 month old for a weekend to Dunsley Hall. The staff were brilliant with our young boy, going well out of their way to make us (and especially him ) feel really welcome. So much so that when we got home , he took us to our front door and said 'holiday' Food's good as are the grounds, location is great although probably a drive to the beach if you have kids

Sandsend, a mile from the hotel , is great if your looking for a relaxed beach with good food in a few cafe's and a decent pub, without the usual stag idiots and freakish tat shops that sprawl up the east coast - with some excellent inland walks too. Whitby is only a few miles away if you want that kind of binge entertainment...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunter_RHalifaxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

It's a bit late but I felt I must thank the young man on duty just before Christmas when two bedraggled ladies appeared at about 10pm, looking for coffee and mince pies - the bar had a real fire, there was a choice of music - or not and very attentive service.

Thank you. We were warm, cosy and able to have a good chat without any unwanted attention from staff. It was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I decided to give this hotel a go on the recommendation of a friend. We were not to be disappointed - the Valentines Day meal was simply awesome and truly stunning value for money.
The rooms are nice enough although as others have said you struggle for entertainment if it's a rainy day as the room televisions only have four channels and the wifi is non existent (certainly in our room anyway). You'll also struggle to get a 3G signal so really forget any form of internet! Although the hotel can't be blamed for network coverage!
Breakfast was nice - the choice was about average but everything cooked fresh and we both said how nice the food was.
Overall, we will certainly be back - albeit with a portable television transmitter and/or a mobile phone mast!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is in a lovely setting and even though its only a few miles out of Whitby it is far from the madding crowds that take over the town at weekends. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist who was helpful with local information as well as showing us the public areas of the hotel and walking us to our room. The bedroom was clean, well appointed and quiet. Unlike a previous reviewer we had an updated bathroom with a 'walk-in, squirt you from all directions' shower and underfloor heating. We had a lovely early morning walk down to Sandsend beach which is only a mile away and returned to enjoy a lovely breakfast. The menu was varied and the good quality ingredients were well cooked and the service was attentive. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends but would echo the words of previous reviewers; it seems more of a hotel for grown ups than children.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerPrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
3.9 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
4.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
3.2 km away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
4 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: ₹ 5,832 - ₹ 14,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing