We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shepherd's Purse
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here for one night on our retun from Edingburgh and it was a sheer delight. We had a room with a four poster bed and a corner bath. Although the room was 'compact and bijou' it was so charming we fell in love with it. The location is superb as you are on the quaintly cobbled Church Street right in front of the Abbey and surrounded by lovely shops and pubs. The shop 'Shepherds Purse' sells all sorts of lovely local cheeses, breads and deli items as well as a selection of clothes and other weird and wonderful things. Although no breakfast is included, in the courtyard in from of the accomodation is a superb tea room that serves a divine full English breakfast for approx £5. Best breakfast we'd eaten in a long time! Really recommend this place if you are looking for a location in the heart of old Whitby - no amusement arcades on this side of the river but great fish and chips a minute walk away!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzleBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    56
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
167
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a mid week break and stayed in the cottage and had breakfast in the adjacent restaurant. The cottage was clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent. The gentleman owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

really enjoyed our stay here - the staff were helpful and the location excellent. it's bit flimsy - the curtain rail fell down on closing the curtains - but was fixed straight away and flushing the toilet was a bit of an art form - it's also very easy to hear everything your neighbours say and do! however it was clean and comfortable - lovely china cups for tea and coffee, a comfortable bed, nicely furnished, with a good shower - the candle in the bathroom was a nice touch! we'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetteuk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

What a lovely little find in the heart of Whitby...
We managed to book in for one nights stay in this lovely quirky little place.The last remaining room available was a doulble room with a shared bathroom which was fine by us. The only problem we had was that within the shared bathroom there wasn't a shower but a bath with attached shower head to which the water just trickled out making it difficult to get a full wash. Also at night on returning to our room the courtyard and stairway were poorly lit. We have since pointed this out to the owner.

Our room its self was really lovely "shabby chic" in style and very clean and comfortable. We loved the little attention to detail... like the fresh flowers and tea and biscuits. We also had a great view of the little courtyard area. Which was very inviting and a lovely little place to relax in.

The shop attached to the buisness was like a little emporium full of nice things most of which were ethical and organic products.

The Shepherds purse is a gem of a find and we will most definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle on Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on 7th July, we were upgraded without asking by the lovely woman in the shop, to room 5, which had a corner bath and four poster bed,from a room with a shower, very nice.
The towels and linen were immaculate and there was plenty of coffee and tea in the room, not the usual two cups worth.
The little courtyard was so cute and just like a french farmhouse, I loved it.
The accomodation is right next to everything you could want.
Just a note don't bother with the indians accross the bridge expensive for amount of food we got (Shaniq I think it's called).
Park across the road for £6 a day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.5 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
4.3 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Property: The Shepherd's Purse
Address: The Old Workshops Sanders Yard Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,089 - ₹ 4,907
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby
The Shepherd's Purse Whitby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing